No sound from TV's WiFi contect using ARC port-receiver's Monitor ARC port. Optical cable required?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Mystyc, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. Mystyc

    Mystyc Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Panasonic Viera TCP65VT50 hooked to a Denon AVR1912 using the monitor ARC port on the receiver with an HDMI to the ARC port on the TV. Cable signal coming into the SAT/CAB port on the receiver. TV programming works great. But when I access WiFi content through the TV, no sound comes down to the receiver (I still here the cable signal audio; there's no select button for the Monitor port to force the receiver to listen to that HDMI (which should be two-way, correct?).
    Panasonic says the TV doesn't "see" the receiver on that line, so the home theater choices are greyed out in the menu. They seem to think I should be feeding the broadcast signal through the TV; don't know what that has to do with WiFi output. They also say they "think" WiFi audio will go out an optical cable,, but should also be going out the ARC line to the ARC receiver input.
    Using an optical cable is the only thing I haven't tried yet. Any ideas on how these new-fangled TV's work with built-in WiFi ?
    Thanks in advance !!!
    Eileen
     
  2. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    67
    Real Name:
    Al
    The fact that you can hear the cable signal audio makes me think that you didn't set the Denon to "TV". Also, the Denon should have had 'HDMI Control' set to "on" during set-up.
     
  3. Mystyc

    Mystyc Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Input setup doesn't provide a choice for the Monitor port, which is where the TV is hooked up. Although it's an ARC port, I'm thinking you have to select it in order for the receiver to listen to it, but I don't see any way to choose it. Should I cable the TV in-between the cable box and the receiver's "SAT/Cable" port with an HDMI ?
     
  4. Mystyc

    Mystyc Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    NEVER MIND; IT WORKED !! I TURNED ON HDMI CONTROL AND IT AUTOMATICALLY FIXED THE PROBLEM, NO NEED TO "SELECT TV." NOW I CAN LISTEN TO WIFI CONTENT WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING (I THINK !).
    THANK YOU !!!
     
  5. Mystyc

    Mystyc Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I turned on HDMI control in the Denon, and the sound worked from WiFi until I turned everything off. When we turned it back on, we now have no sound from cable !!! Either I've done something wrong or we need to rework it. Ideas?
     
  6. Mystyc

    Mystyc Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never mind; we turned the receiver of and on again, and now it's working GREAT !!
    THANK YOU VERY MUCH !
     
  7. Mystyc

    Mystyc Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything was working after I set up HDMI control to ON in the Denon, UNTIL I turned it off. When I turned it back on USING THE VERIZON REMOTE (with the Denon code), it didn't have sound again !! When I turned it off and on again USING THE DENON REMOTE, the sound came back !
    BTW, in the INPUT SET menu, under INPUT ASSIGN, next to "TV" there are only dashes (------) in the HDMI column. I don't see any way to "select TV" in the Denon. The TV is connected to the ARC ports on both units with an HDMI. Internet content now has audio to the receiver, BUT ONLY WHEN I TURN ON THE RECEIVER WITH IT'S REMOTE CONTROL.
    I don't get it. Ideas?
    Eileen
     
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Be thankful on your TV you get the "net" content out via HDMI. Ours doesn't support that(also a Panny) and the "net" has to be played over the internal speakers.
     

Share This Page