No HDMI hookup on cox cable box motorola DCT2000

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by NavyMA, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. NavyMA

    NavyMA Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got myself a new Bravia LCD tv and wanted to improve the picture from my cable. There is no HDMI hookup in the rear though. No DVI either. The box is a Motorola DCT2000. All of the inputs/outputs can be seen here. http://coxhelpdesk.tripod.com/id9.html

    I want to try and get as close to HDMI quality as I can. Can anyone help?
     
  2. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,759
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's not a Hi Def box so you will not get any HD from it. Even if it will tune HD channels it will only output them at 480i. Best pq from that box would be from the composite video out (RCA pin jack color coded yellow). PQ will be medocre at best and nowhere near what would appear using an HD box with HDMI or Component video outs.

    Your best option would be to contact your cable company and upgrade to an HD box.
     
  3. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    11,692
    Likes Received:
    763
    Location:
    Michigan
    The DCT6200 and DCT6400 models in that link are HD boxes. The DCT2000 is not.
     
  4. dfeller

    dfeller Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depending on your cable company and the local plans you already subscribe to, an HD box could even be free. You should call them and inquire. It makes a huge difference and it definitely worth it.
     

Share This Page