What's new

newbie here....looking for help in setting up a home theatre in my basement (1 Viewer)

tate101

Auditioning
Real Name
alan ewasiuk
Thought I would see if I could pick the brains of people who know much more about this than myself. Here is what I need some help with: building a dedicated home theatre room in our new house room will be 13 x 16 with a 9 foot ceiling plan on putting in a floor riser, insulated ceiling and double drywall on the walls for soundproofing I have a budget of $6500 for equipment which needs to include projector, receiver, screen, speakers, remote and cables. How much should I be budgeting to have the room wired? Is a 100 inch screen adequate? Should be rectractable or fixed? I have seen some screens for as little as $500 and some as much as $2600.....what price point do you get your best bang for the buck? Is there any type of screen that one should consider over the other? These are some of the items that I have been looking at purchasing: LG CF181D projector MX 5.1 sound system or Definitive procinema 800 series Elite Cinetension 2 electric screen URC MX-450 remote Outside of the projector I really don't know where I should be spending my money....is it better to spend more on the screen or on sound and AV reciever? or something else? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. thanks T

winniw

Second Unit
Real Name
Nick Reed