Newbie having problems

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by redlabelrocks, Oct 13, 2013.

  1. redlabelrocks

    redlabelrocks Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    john
    I just bought a Yamaha Receiver (RX-V375), that has both RCA, HDMI and Cable Coax Connectors. My DVD player is a Sony model , that only has the digital coax connectors or HDMI output. My tv doesn't have HDMI but does have RCA connectors. So far I've been able to get sound from the DVD but no video on the HDMI. Nothing on the Coax. I have the cable box plugged into the receiver, and I get picture and sound on that. What am I missing here?
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    HDMI has to stay HDMI.Does your TV have DVI?
     
  3. redlabelrocks

    redlabelrocks Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    john
    it has a DVI/HDCP connector on it.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Then buy a HDMI-DVI cable and your problems are solved.
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Is your cable box HD?If yes, you can then use the HDMI on it also.
     
  6. redlabelrocks

    redlabelrocks Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    john
    Thanks, I didn't know that they made those. Like I said, I'm new to this and was getting frustrated. I'll get one in the am and let you all know how it turns out!
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You'll probably need to order one online. I doubt you are going to find a store that has had one in a decade.
     
  8. redlabelrocks

    redlabelrocks Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    john
    Got the cable today, patched the dvd player straight to the tv, and of course no sound, but I did have video. Hooked it into the receiver, and now I have sound, but no video. So I know that the dvd player and tv work, now I need help trying to track down the problem within the receiver. I went through the setup menus, but have come up with nothing so far. Any ideas/hints?
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You probably screwed up HDCP.

    Turn it all off, unplug it all from the wall, unhook the hdmi.

    Wait half an hour.

    Connect the HDMI
    Plug it all into the wall
    Turn on the AVR(must, must...must be first)
    Turn on the TV
    Turn on the DVD player.
     
  10. redlabelrocks

    redlabelrocks Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    john
    What is HDCP? I am sorry for asking so many questions, but I've gotten really frustrated with this thing because I know it's going to be something simple and that I should have caught it. Thanks for your patience and help!
     
  11. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
  12. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    By the way. 99.999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999% of...

    "I have audio but no video from my DVD/BD to AVR to TV..."

    Is you screwed up the HDCP handshake.
     
  13. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Handshake(when it comes to HDMI HDCP)...

    You have the AVR saying..."Hi, I'm a Yamaha RX-V375, and you would be what?"

    "Hi, I'm X DVD player."

    When you fire up the TV...

    "Hi, I'm a Y TV and you are?"

    "Hi, I'm a Yamaha RX-V375, on the other end is X DVD player. X DVD player, meet Y TV."

    If you screw up the HDCP(like you did connecting the DVD to the TV, then the DVD to the AVR)...

    "Hi i'm X DVD and you are Y dvd...Hi how are ya."

    You "yank the cable" and put it in the Yamaha(cause I presume you did this plugged in and on)...

    DVD player goes...

    "Uh, Hi, I'm DVD player X. You aren't Y TV...what are you?"
     
  14. redlabelrocks

    redlabelrocks Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    john
    I know what a handshake is, no need to be sarcastic about things.
     
  15. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    One last thing...

    You did pick up two HDMI cables as well?

    Your only connections should be...(which you haven't mentioned what your cable box is)

    STB -> AVR via HDMI
    DVD -> AVR via HDMI
    AVR -> TV via HDMI/DVI cable.

    How did you have the STB connected before with the AVR/TV that you had pic and sound?
     
  16. redlabelrocks

    redlabelrocks Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    john
    Well I tried disconnecting everything, including the power, and letting it set for 30 minutes. Hooked everything back up and powered it up in the sequence you mentioned, and nothing changed. Same issue. The cable isn't hdmi, it's old rca hookup and works just fine.
     
  17. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    And your connections are what?

    If you don't have a HD cable box, there is almost no reason to use the video switching in the 375.

    Connect your DVD player directly to the TV for video and to the 375 for audio.

    You've done that for the STB already.

    Not sure what the setup problem is, cause you haven't said what you've done.

    Did you buy a HDMI cable as well? Or not? Did you already have one?

    You do realize you have to go into setup on the 375 and assign inputs...??? (which you couldn't do before you bought the HDMI-DVI cable as the GUI on the 375 only leaves via HDMI)
     
  18. redlabelrocks

    redlabelrocks Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    john
    Actually I have said exactly what I've done, and how I've connected it. I hooked it straight to the tv with the HDMI/DVI cable and I got video, but no sound. Powered everything down, hooked DVD via HDMI to AVR. AVR to tv via HMDI/DVI. No video so I can't tell you if there is a GUI on the screen or not. I know that It has sound because I stuck a disc in to check it. Right now the DVD and TV are the ONLY things hooked up. I took everything else off to narrow down the problem.
    I CANNOT connect the dvd player to the tv and the avr at the same time, it only has HDMI or Digital Coax outputs.
     
  19. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
     
  20. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    The only snag here(and model numbers of the DVD player would help) is if your DVD player kills all the other connections when you use HDMI. Which if it does...

    Time to read your owners manuals.
     

Share This Page