What's new

New to DIY cables (interconnects and speaker) (1 Viewer)

Neil_S

Stunt Coordinator
I have been following the DIY cable thread that has been going on... I have no experience to DIY cables but I think is is a good opportunity for me because I'm needing both interconnects and speaker cables (for bi-amp of my Energy C6's).
I see that people are using Belken 89259 or 1506a for component video. How are these for either receiver to amp
interconnects or speaker cable? I took a look at the links but I got such a head rush from information I'm still trying to sift through it all.
Suggestions? I would need short lengths for the interconnects and 5 or 6 foot runs for the speakers (and I see the speakers cables are made from two sections. The core of one intertwined with the outer mesh of the other and vice
versa). I guess about 40 or 50' total for everything. Where do you suggest purchasing?
Thanks!

Phil A

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Phil
Belden has a very good online catalog (www.belden.com) with white papers and even recommendations on which items to use for audio, video and speaker cable.
------------------

Neil_S

Stunt Coordinator
D'oh! You are correct. I meant Belden ('k', 'd', what's the difference?). I'll take a look at the catalog. What type does everyone here use? As I've said, from what I've been reading many use the Belden brand as opposed to others...
Thanks for the help,
Neil

Dave Scarpa

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
David Scarpa
I'm building a new Entertainment unit and when done I'll be attempting my own interconnects. I was going to use Quad Sheild RG6 for everything including Component video. Using Crimp RCA Connectors for RG6. Anyone have any comments or warnings.

David A. Frattaroli

Stunt Coordinator
Dave, which RG6 cable were you planning on using? Also, why RG6 and not RG59. I've been considering using Canare V3-5CFB. It's RG59 with 400mHz bandwith.
------------------

Scott_G

Second Unit