What's new

new setup advice (1 Viewer)

passplay

Auditioning
Real Name
pass
Hello. I have been upgrading my home theater piece by piece for 2 years and finally finished last week! I would like advice on 2 settings please...
My setup...
Receiver:
Denon AVR-391
http://usa.denon.com/US/Product/Pages/ProductDetail.aspx?catalog=DenonNA_US&PCatId=RefurbishedProCat(DenonNA)&CatId=AVReceiversRef(DenonNA)&Pid=AVR391(DenonNA)&IsRef=1
Subwoofer:
Onkyo SKW204
http://www.onkyousa.com/model.cfm?m=SKW-204&class=Speaker
Front speakers:
Martin Logan Motion 10's
http://www.martinlogan.com/motionSeries/models/motion-10-12.php
Center channel and rear speakers:
Martin Logan MLT-2
http://www.martinlogan.com/products/mlt2
Ok so my questions are...
1. On the Denon there are settings to set the size of your speakers.. for the center channel should I use "Small" or "Large" ? It is a good bit larger than the HTiB one I had before but I do not know if the MLT-2 center is classified as a large.
2. Also on the Denon there is a setting for the subwoofer mode and my choices are "LFE" or "LFE+main". Apparently the latter setting adds the low range of all channels to the sub which makes me think the LFE is the better choice for my setup.. however there is a note on the Denon manual that says if both front and center speakers are set to "large" no sound may be output from the subwoofer if LFE setting is selected? I suppose if the answer to my 1st question is "small" for the center channel, then I should choose LFE+main?
Any advice is greatly appreciated!!! Any other recommendations are welcome as well!

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene