What's new

New Home Theater Setup (Denon AVR-590) questions (1 Viewer)

Holton0289

Auditioning
Real Name
Jeff
I am new to this gen. of home theaters and have found myself lost in an endless list of settings. I need some advice from people that know their way around a complete setup and how to make it work best. Below is a list of what I have, what I am trying to do, and some problems I have.

TV- Samsung 46" Led-LCD UN46B8000
DVR- SA Explorer 9300HD (Knology)
AMP- Denon AVR-590
Xbox 360, PS3
Logitech Harmony One Universal Remote

I wanted to be able to hook up everything to the TV via HDMI and then optical audio out to the AMP. One reason for doing this is my TV handles the PS3 and Xbox better with game mode on. Having them connected directly to the TV I could just change inputs and the tv remembers that HDMI 2=Game Mode on, HDMI 3=Game Mode On, HDMI 1=Game mode off. Another reason is that x.v.color works with the PS3 and the TV but if it goes through the AMP I don't know if can handle that. The big problem with everything going to TV then AMP is no surround sound, 5.1 stereo just isn't the same.

So I changed everything to go to the AMP via HDMI then to the TV. I cant get surround sound while watching TV, either HD or SD. This amp has so many settings I cant wrap my head around them all, think something is not right. I did see where the auto detect for surround sound is on but it doesn't help. What is the best way to go about hooking this stuff up. Is there an easy way to do all this that I am just overlooking?

I would appreciate and help or advice anyone could give me.

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed
Originally Posted by Holton0289
I wanted to be able to hook up everything to the TV via HDMI and then optical audio out to the AMP.
Nope. As you found out, it doesn't work that way for surround. Since your receiver decodes the HD audio formats, you definitely want to go to the receiver first, instead of the tv.