What's new

New Guy Quetion (1 Viewer)

kismetgeek

Auditioning
Real Name
nixmix
I'm completely new to home theater and I could use some guidance from those with more experience.

I'm moving into a new house and I want to start things off on the right foot. I'd like to setup a 5.1 HTiB, but i don't know which one to buy. My friends are recommending a BOSE system, but some people are telling me that BOSE is not worth it and that the price is mostly marketing. However, I love the small size of the BOSE satellite speakers.

Can someone please recommend a good HTiB. I'm not looking for anything that will shake the house since I have a newborn baby, but I want clear, sharp sound with good surround.

If this subject has already been beaten to death, I would appreciate a point in the right direction.

Thank you for any help.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Do you really mean a craptastic all- in-one with BD and crappy speakers that you'll be throwing away in 12-18 months...???Or do you mean a pre-package that you'll never outgrow, cause you'll be able to upgrade it as you go...???

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
The concensus is pretty much that Bose stinks. Going with satellites may reduce the sound quality enough that you won't be getting any better sound than Bose, but you pay far less for the same quality. Plus, you'll have a real receiver so that if you want to upgrade the speakers later, you can. (Bose works with proprietary speakers/pseudo-woofer, so you cannot upgrade.)

And I'm not pushing you away from the satellites. They aren't as good for music as regular (bookshelf) speakers, but they can be fine for movie use. I use satellites with my theater set-up and bookshelfs with my music set-up.

kismetgeek

Auditioning
Real Name
nixmix
I mean a pre-package that I won't outgrow. I wouldn't mind upgrading as needed, however, I'd like to buy the entire system in one shot from the beginning.