What's new

New DIYer starting 1st project (1 Viewer)

JustinUnder

Auditioning
Hello everyone,
I am so way new here, I have spent some time looking over the posts on Home Theater Forum , and think I have worked up the nerve to ask some questions. First of all I think I would like to try my hand at building speakers.

1. I was wondering if a person can build high quality speaker that an audiophile (not that I can call myself that) would be proud to own for less money.

Now when it comes to woodworking there is nothing I can't handle (Cabinet maker by trade) , but I am speaker design dumb. Which leads to my next question?

2. how do I figure how much space is needed inside for a speaker perform and sound it best?

3. I understand there is software, Does anyone know if they make any for Macintosh OS X ?

4. To a certain point I understand how a crossover network works But I don't understand how to put one together. How far does this set me back? Should I even worry?

5. Seal or ported What is better?

I was thinking I would like to build a sub to start with . I know I can make it look great I need some help to make it sound great. I have a 18 X 18 room. that I want to fill with clean tight sound. Most of the use will be for movies and some music. I have a 8" JBL sub right now (please don't laugh) I don't feel like it can handle the level that I would care to push it to, it sounds like it wants to bottom out . I want to get away from that with out going over the top. I don't want to be reckless with my money for fear that I may not be a good speaker builder, not that I plan to fail. I just want to be wise with my cash. I hope these are the right questions to start with. If not please point me in that direction.

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
Best bet for a noob is to start with a kit. They provide a proven design. That eliminates the need to buy testing hardware for driver measurement, and the software needed crossover design and box modeling.