New Comp - Boot Problems

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Joe_C, Sep 17, 2001.

  1. Joe_C

    Joe_C Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just like the subject says, the new computer I'm building is not allowing me to continue on with the boot process past the BIOS Startup Screen. I have all the components installed already, but when I tried to put my boot disk in the floppy to start working on the software, the computer just freezes/stops on that screen.
    I've tried different cables for the floppy drive, and a different drive altogether but nothing seems to work. One of my friends mentioned that maybe the disk I'm using isn't bootable, but I'm positive it is. I've tried the Startup Disk which came with my other working computer, and I've also made a new boot disk off the working comp. Neither seems to work.
    It gets to that the end of that first screen, and the floppy drive begins reading the disk but it never goes beyond that. Oh, and the problem isn't that the ribbon cable is upside down. That happened to me right away, but I fixed that immediately. This problem is a little different.
    And my system is as follows:
    Athlon 1.4 GHz (266MHz)
    Asus A7M266
    512mb Kingston DDR
    Leadtek GeForce2 Pro 64mb
    IBM Deskstar 40gb 60gxp
    Plextor 16/10/40 CD-RW
    Please help me! I've been working on this for three days straight! I've read just about every word of text on your entire site. It's been extremely helpful, but it doesn't help me with my specific problem. Although after implementing some of the suggestions the BIOS no longer just "freezes" after it checks the IDE slots, and now a cursor blinks at the bottom of the screen.
    Thanks in advance for any help.
    ------------------
    www.DigitalHoard.com
    Petition: get Family Guy released on DVD!
     
  2. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    What OS are you planning on installing? If its anything beyond Windows 98, you should set the boot priority to have it boot off of the CDROM first and then it will boot off of the Windows CD. Let me know if that fixes it.
     
  3. SteveBjr

    SteveBjr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try what Kelly said...if the ram you are using isn't confirmed to work i'd test out another stick. Let us know if you get it working
    ------------------
    Steve,
    DVD Collection
     
  4. Joe_C

    Joe_C Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked the RAM and it's not that. I also tried booting off the Windows CD, after I gave the CD-ROM boot priority. All that happened was the drive kept whirring at higher and higher speeds, slowing down, and then revving up again. I'm even more confused now then I was before [​IMG]
    I'm also getting a little stressed since I need this computer for school, since I leave this Saturday (UCLA starts REALLY late).
    Oh, and I'm installing Win98 right now. I'm getting XP tomorrow, but I'm going to wait on installing that until all the game compatibility problems I've been hearing about have been smoothed over a bit - which will hopefully be in time for its October launch.
    ------------------
    www.DigitalHoard.com
    Petition: get Family Guy released on DVD!
    [Edited last by Joe_C on September 18, 2001 at 12:36 AM]
     
  5. CRyan

    CRyan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, you will need to take everything out.
    Take out everything except for the floppy drive and video card. Boot and see where it gets you. If you are still having problems, then you probably have a bad mainboard. That is if you are CERTAIN that you do not have a bad floppy drive and/or cable or stick of memory.
    If you get to a prompt, then start using the scientific method till your system hangs again. That is all you can really do. Just isolate the problem.
    Is your Power Supply AMD recommended? I doubt this is the culprit, but you never know.
    Let us know what happens.
    C. Ryan
    ------------------
    http://www.elitestoragedesigns.com/RyanOAR.bmp
     
  6. CRyan

    CRyan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh and a few more things. Make sure that your video card is seated properly. This can easily cause the problem you are describing. You may want to pop in PCI video card to make sure it is not the video card or AGP port.
    I had a problem when I first built my current PC. My cheapo case was preventing me from completely inserting my video card, although, I thought it was.
    C. Ryan
    ------------------
    http://www.elitestoragedesigns.com/RyanOAR.bmp
     
  7. Joe_C

    Joe_C Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help so far.
     
  8. Ron_S

    Ron_S Extra

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    The three beeps do indicate a video card problem. If you get a flashlight and look closely, you will find that the end of the video card is not seated well. You really have to press down on the card pretty firmly to seat it properly.
    Next, use a Windows 98 boot disk (make certain that the A: drive is your first boot device in the BIOS) to boot to a prompt...this may take a while, be patient, since the hard disk does not have a valid partition.
    Use FDISK to create a valid partition.
    I had similar problems recently. Hang in there.
     
  9. Joe_C

    Joe_C Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I was pretty sure that's what those beeps meant, but I had always heard that you would tell if there was a problem BEFORE the BIOS had a chance to even bootup (or in my case partially bootup).
    I'll go take a look at it now, but that by itself doesn't explain why the CD-ROM kept revving up and slowing down on a continuous cycle. Or does it?
    ------------------
    www.DigitalHoard.com
    Petition: get Family Guy released on DVD!
     
  10. CRyan

    CRyan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly, as I mentioned before, your best bet is going to be to try out a PCI video card in your machine. If that works, then you simply have a bad MB or video card. When I said take everything out, I really meant EVERYTHING except for the video card, processor, and floppy. And only have a keyboard and monitor attached.
    But anyway, itt really does seem that you have a video problem and you should concentrate on that.
    Your variable speed CD-ROM will do that when it gets stuck cycling. More than likely your BIOS is checking the CD-ROM and before it has a chance to "cycle down" you computer freezes leaving it cycling without anything to tell it too stop. This is of no consequence.
    C. Ryan
    ------------------
    http://www.elitestoragedesigns.com/RyanOAR.bmp
     

Share This Page