New cam

Discussion in 'Photography' started by McPaul, May 19, 2006.

1. McPaul

McPaul Screenwriter

Paul M
    I just bought a Panasonic DMC-FX01 today and first use will be this weekend to take to a wedding...

I bought it because it's small, and offers 28mm lens, those are the two big reasons. Having optical image stabilizer and a 4x zoom are big plusses.

Oh, another plus, they gave me a printer to go with it. I've never printed out any pictures before, but I'll give it a try when I get home. It's the HP Deskjet 5940. Is this a decent model?

I've heard this cam produces a lot of noise, esp. on higher ISO settings, however I'm not so sure I will notice it.

I understand that camera noise can be photoshopped out. Is this an easy process that produces quality results? I've never used Photoshop before.

I've got a 2G SD card that's just waiting to be filled!!

2. Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield Executive Producer
    Supporter

Sounds like a nice camera, Paul. I think you will really like the image stabilization (assuming Panasonic implemented it correctly).

Just yesterday I received my first image stabilization lens for the Canon Digital Rebel XT dSLR that I bought a couple months ago. This is a 70-300mm Canon telephoto, and I was amazed at the pictures I was able to take handheld at dusk last night.

3. Bryan X

Bryan X Producer

I bought the Rebel XT recently too, Scott. I got the 17-85mm IS lens with it. IS is really nice. I was looking for a second lens for more reach and was really interested in the 70-300 IS you have. But decided against it because of the focusing issue Canon is adressing with the recall. Have you noticed the problem much on yours?

I ended up getting the 70-200mm f/4 L. Excellent image quality, but the IS would have been nice. I'm not real steady at 200mm.

4. ManW_TheUncool

ManW_TheUncool Producer

ManW
    Do it the old fashion way. Get a monopod for manual IS that works for all your non-IS lenses (across all camera brands). [​IMG]