What's new

Need some tips on fun stuff in NY,NY (1 Viewer)

Hakan Powers

Stunt Coordinator
Going to NY on monday with a friend of mine.. I was originally going for a wedding but decided on bringing along a friend who has never been there.

We will be in NY until sept 8th.

I guess a day or two will be spent on touristy stuff for my friend, and most of that stuff is fun even if you've seen it before..

Last time I was in NY was jan 99, for a funeral that time so I didn't have that much time for "fun" stuff. Even though I've been in NY plenty of times this is my first time when 1) I have plenty of time and 2) I'm of legal drinking age (I'm 26)

So can anyone give me some tips on:
  • "Must see" places, stuff that's changed since 99. (Not counting the obvious GZ)
  • Good restaurants
  • Good bars
  • Good karaoke bars
  • Good night clubs
  • Good places to shop for dvds (if it's ok in after hours, this is not a bargain thread though!)
  • Good places to do general shopping.
  • Are there any local HTF-meets going on? I met some HTF-people in LA-01, drop me a PM if you want to go out for a beer some day
  • anything I've missed

I'll be staying with a relative in Brooklyn, but IIRC mass transit isn't a problem in NY so we should be able to travel freely.

Hakan Powers

Stunt Coordinator
Don,

That's on the list.. though I have DLP at home we still don't have any digital theatres over here. Any special ones you can reccomend?

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
Consistently the best DLP setup that I've been in Manhattan is at the AMC 25 complex near Times Square. There isn't always a DLP presentation playing, though.