What's new

Need Opinions on used dSLR (1 Viewer)

Tony Whalen

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Tony Whalen
Greetings all.

I've been a point-and-shoot user for many many moons. However, in another life I used to be a professional videographer, so I have a bit of knowledge about composition, aperture and so forth. (Still need to refresh, but that's another story.)

Anyway... long story short... my brother has offered to sell me his older dSLR, knowing that I've been wanting one for some time now. (Plus my current 7.1MP point-and-shoot is dying.)

He's offered me a Nikon D70s, with an 18-70mm lens (I believe the lens that came with it), carrying case, extra battery pack and original packaging and documentation.

The drawback... the built-in flash isn't working.

He's offered the whole kit to me for $350.00 (Canadian). I'd love to get it, but I'm concerned as to what it may cost to get the flash fixed. (I've spoken to the local camera shops, and they tell me that Nikon charges 90/hr for service fees.)

So... thoughts? I'd jump on this deal in a sec if the flash was working, but I'm uncertain if I should do it with that problem.

Should I buy it, or would it be better for me to look at a new entry-level dSLR package?

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
That's a decent price for the camera and lens. Instead of spending money on getting the built-in flash fixed, though, I would buy an external flash. You'll get much better flash photos -- I never use the pop-up flash on my Canon 40D dSLR.

I'm sure one of the Nikon users here can recommend an external flash for you.

Dennis*G

Supporting Actor
Second what Scott said. Pop up flash is crap anyway, so again, just wait for a Nikon user to pop on for flash information.

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
ManW
Hi, Tony.