What's new

Need help/opinions for an upgrade (1 Viewer)

cmndr brain

Auditioning
Real Name
John
First, let me apologize in advance but, I'm new to this forum and you've probably heard this thousands of times. I have been pouring over hundreds of threads, reviews, and articles looking for an upgrade to replace my Denon AVR-2105. I've narrowed it down to two receivers. The Denon 3313ci or the Yamaha RX-A1020.
I'm a huge Denon fan and my current system represents my 3rd Denon that's been flawless. I loved the sound and quality of my last 3 systems. My only reservation is that the 3313ci "seems" to have issues. Maybe I'm wrong and/or they've fixed all this with firmware updates. But, too many times I have read about people returning their 3313ci due to problems or weak/bad sound. I just don't want to fork out a ton of money for a headache and look to you guys for some help. As far as the Yamaha, I have no experience with them, but see no reason to dismiss them. Both these systems represent what I'm looking for in a new receiver (5.1 minimum, 2 hdmi outputs, wired Lan, at least 2 component in/ 1 out, at least 1 composite input and I like the ability to expand my system to 7.1 though I could care less about multi-zones) and with both of them currently priced the same, I'm having trouble deciding. Do I go with Denon who I've had a great experience in the past or do I go with Yamaha who "seem" to have less issues? Thank you.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Every AVR has problems if you look hard enough. I just had an Onkyo TX-SR707 go down with "no audio output" except with headphones using pure direct and direct.

cmndr brain

Auditioning
Real Name
John
schan1269 said:
Every AVR has problems...