What's new

Need help in buying an 42" LCD and a comments about the LG 42 LB1DR (1 Viewer)

glenm

Auditioning
Real Name
glen
Im new to this hobby about home theater. Need some professional advice, Guys can anyone tell me if the LG 42 LB1DR a good choice for an LCD compare to other LCD. Its sold for 2700.00 and I dont know if there is another LCD that is better for this price. I really appreciate all the suggestions and comments that this forum can help me. Thanks a lot

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
Are you married to LCD as at technology and 42" as the size? Does your application absolutely require a flat-panel display? I'm curious because for that kind of money you can probably get a bigger screen, better viewing angle, more contrast and better over-all picture with a microdisplay (DLP or LCoS) than with LCD.

When I was shopping for my first HD sets, I started with what I needed and wanted in terms of form factor, screen-size, PQ, issues, priorities and price, then narrowed the filed down to the technologies that met my requirements:

In my bedroom I wanted a very compact, inexpensive set for limited TV watching, so got a 27" LCD panel.

In my home office I wanted a TV the could also replace my PC monitor and let me watch DVDs while putting in time on the treadmill, and also wanted to hold the price down, so I got the 32" version of the bedroom TV, which had VGA and DVI inputs.