What's new

need help deciding on right blu-ray player (1 Viewer)

sonybluray

Auditioning
Real Name
Alan Curry
I am somewhat new to the audiophile stuff...I had a simple Bose Lifestyle system previously, seemed to do its job quite well...

I just purchased and hung my new Sony 46" LCD Z-series tv...with it, I got the Sony HTSS2000 surround sound theater system. I thought the system had a blu-ray player in it....I was wrong when I unpacked it. I set it up anyway with HDMI cables - the pic is awesome and the sound is fantastic.

My question now is...what inexpensive - but NICE blu-ray player can I go for to complement the up-converting SS2000 Sony system?? Obviously I will be connecting the new blu-ray with another HDMI connection...but I am having trouble finding the 'right one'.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Hi Alan,

Good news and bad news. First the bad. You system does not decode HD formats so you can't get the 'cheaper' Blu-Rays. The good news is it does accept 5.1 LPCM via HDMI, so you can get a player that will work for you.

I like the Panasonic BD35 (I have the BD30). Look around - any player that decodes HD audio will work.

Off topic: So you are saying the cheap Sony HTiB sounds better than the BOSE? It's just amusing and no, I'm not surprised.
htf_images_smilies_smile.gif

sonybluray

Auditioning
Real Name
Alan Curry
thanks for the info, and sorry if I sound stupid, but why does the ss2000 say it can 'upconvert' blu-ray?? you are saying it can't decode? what does that mean?? and, what do you mean that I can find a blu-ray 'that will work' with my system??

yes, the sony speakers sound better than the bose system, albeit, I had one of the first bose surround system lifestyles - going back 5 years ago...so I am sure they have improved tremendously since then.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene