What's new

Need help convincing myself to go with an iPhone! (1 Viewer)

Nelson Au

Senior HTF Member
I am a self employed freelance designer. I have a 4 or 5 year old Razr on AT&T that still works, though the original battery charge time has gone shorter and shorter!

I work out of my home studio a lot, so I have internet access on the desktop and laptop via my Airport base station. I do work outside at times with my laptop at a client's studio. And with Leopard, I just finally got onto a client's Windows network and used their printers, pretty neat!

So I thought it might be a good time to go with a new 3Gs iPhone. Most of my clients use them. But it seems overkill for my needs. Since I get email at home and don't use the cell phone in my home office, unless a client calls my cellphone.

I spoke to my accountant who also uses one! She loves it, but says I can only write-off a percentage of it's use for business, since it would be used for personal calls too.

So it seems a lot of the usage could be for fun and for personal communication via apps like Ping and downloading email. There are Paint and Drawing apps I want to use for my work. The camera with the higher rez could be very helpful when visiting clients and taking pics of the stuff I'm designing.

Also I am interested in the iPad too. And if I got an iPhone, it's got 3Gs, so I figure it would be a waste to pay for a 3Gs version of the iPad and would go with a 3Gs iPad, but not use it for 3Gs, unless I really needed it. But I figure I have wi-fi and can use the iPad that way. So a non-3Gs version makes more sense.

The main thing that holds me back is the cost of the data plan. Of course, I realize one job I'm doing now would pay for it. And assuming I keep working, it becomes a cost of doing business.