What's new

Need help choosing home theater from scratch ~$60K to spend (1 Viewer)

jschulze

Auditioning
Real Name
Jordan Schulze
Hi,

Just found this forum and it seemed like this would be the place to get some help. Looking to spend around $60k on a theater setup. It's gonna be in a roughly 20' x 30' x 11.5' room, being built next spring. I'm looking for a in wall7.1 setup. I'm kinda new to home theater stuff, I come from a recording studio background and most the brands are new to me. Anyway here's what I'm looking at right now.

L & R - Bohlender Graebener R-800
Center - Bohlender Graebener R-600
Surround - Bohlender Graebener R-600
Rear Surround - Bohlender Graebener R-600
Subwoofer - Genelec HTS6

I really want to go with the inwall speakers and these seem to be the best I can find, except for the Speakercraft Rogue for $50k/pair.

Amplifier - Sunfire TGA7400 (should I go with seperate monoblocks?)

Pre - Outlaw 990 (seems cheap, but I've read good things)

Projector - Sony VPL-VW100

Screen - Undecided

DVD Player - Undecided

I'm new to this stuff and I'm not sold 100% on anything, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jordan Schulze

Mark Seaton

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Mark Seaton
Why are you limited to an in-wall system? Is this a dedicated HT/music room or a living space/media room?

BrianTwig

Second Unit
I as well am wondering why your limited to inwalls. With that budget and a dedicated room (if that is what you have) you can easily conceal the speakers regardless of their size.

For the sub, why not take a gander at the SVS B4-Plus (if they still make it, its not on their site). Or run dual PB12-Ultra/2

jschulze

Auditioning
Real Name
Jordan Schulze