What's new

My infamous unanswered question (1 Viewer)

Huntsman1230

Auditioning
Real Name
Hunter
Howdy folks!
First off, I'm an HT junkie and consider myself an experienced user and DIYer. No expert, but a pro tinkerer and self-taught Googler. I learn more and more everyday. I do believe this is the most appropriate place for this question so I'll jump right in.
Allow me to preface this by saying I have been wondering this very question for years. Ever since I received my first $400 DVD player as a gift in 8th grade. It has always bugged me, stumped me, irritated me and followed me like a scowling rain cloud every time I watch a new Blu-ray.
I have never actively sought out an answer to this untill now. Why? Because its really not that big of a deal. But this time, after just purchasing the Hunger Games, I happened to have my iPad in my lap. I told myself that, for the very first time, "I'm gonna Google this..."
Would you believe - NOTHING. Not a single answer. I have browsed page after page and forum after forum. I have cached all of my 9 Safari iPad tabs over and over again dozens of times with promising pages that might just hold the answer - and Nothing. With a capital N.
So, after scouring this very forum, here is my question:
How come on premium movie channels (epix, stars, Cinemax, even your on-demand feature on your cable box), cable tv, and even movie previews on A blu-ray disc, the movies are shown in full screen, 1.78 aspect ratio while I own these exact same Bly ray movies and they are 2.35 with the bars on the top and bottom? For example, I have Captain America, Super 8,, Zombieland, etc. and ALL of these movies are in 2.35. Yet I just sat here and saw them in an "UltraViolet" promo before my Hunger Games film and there they are all in gorgeous full screen. What is going on here? Also, to test that I wasn't crazy, I rented Super 8 via Charter on demand and - sure enough - 1.78 beautiful full screen 16x9 whereas my Blu ray copy is 2.35 with bars.