My Emperor's New Groove may have just died!

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Dan Hitchman, Aug 7, 2003.

  1. Dan Hitchman

    Dan Hitchman Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just pulled out my copy of Disney's The Emperor's New Groove 2 disc set to watch the movie again (2nd time on DVD) on my new Pioneer 563A and it refused to play any part of the second layer! It would freeze and sometimes lock up at the layer change. This same behavior would happen when I tried accessing any chapter located on the second layer, but worked fine with anything on the first layer.

    First I thought it was a compatibility problem (my Toshiba SD-1200 player had played it with no problems the first time I watched it), then I popped it into my DVD-Rom drive and it played the second layer, but with numerous hiccups.

    Has anyone experienced laser rot on this particular title before?

    I don't know if I could get a replacement or not since it was more than a year ago when I bought it.

    Drat it! This was my second favorite animated comedy Disney flick next to Aladdin!

    Dan
     
  2. Kevin Nolan

    Kevin Nolan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh Well.....
     
  3. Luis A

    Luis A Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dan, I would say it's the player that has the problem, not the disc. I don't know how many Pioneer's we had returned b/c of similar problems, but honestly it happens with every player. Anyway, if you want confirmation try taking the disc down to the place you bought it from, and playing it on their demo, or try a freinds copy of the DVD on your player.[​IMG]
     
  4. Miles

    Miles Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey Dan,

    I'll try this later today as I have the same title and player.

    Miles
     
  5. Ed O

    Ed O Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    This happened to my single disc version. The disc had a milky /cloudy look to it. It wasn't a player problem. I was able to exchange it for a replacement.
     
  6. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,526
    Likes Received:
    67
    Real Name:
    Al
    The only disc I've ever had go bad was The Emperor's New Grove. I found out well after I threw away the receipt, so I didn't try anything to get a replacement. It was easier to just cough up another $15.
     
  7. JustinCleveland

    JustinCleveland Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Real Name:
    Justin Cleveland
    Check it on another DVD player, get back to us.
     
  8. Dan Hitchman

    Dan Hitchman Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help so far! I will check it on another player.

    Miles, I would love to hear what you find out.

    Dan
     
  9. DaViD Boulet

    DaViD Boulet Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 1999
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    3
    Disney has a great exchange policy. You can "register" your Disney DVDs with them on their website and then get free replacements if a disc ever goes bad.

    Most new Disney DVDs have a "register this DVD" link on the menu with instructions...and you can register *all* your Disney DVDs...not just those that advertise the feature.
     
  10. John Berggren

    John Berggren Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 1999
    Messages:
    3,245
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just bought this player today at Best Buy. I'll have to test Groove. I hope it's the disc and not the player.

    If it is the player, would Pioneer likely provide a flashbios CD?
     
  11. John Berggren

    John Berggren Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 1999
    Messages:
    3,245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone know what chapter the layer change occurs at?
     
  12. Dan Hitchman

    Dan Hitchman Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have access to my Ultimate Groove set at the moment, but from memory the layer change occurs just after Kronk suddenly wakes up in the middle of the night and has his revelation that he knows where he first saw John Goodman's character, and just before he throws open Ertha Kitt's tent to give her the news.

    I think it's somewhere in Chapter 20-something.

    Dan
     
  13. Miles

    Miles Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey Dan,

    I checked my copy of ENG 2-disc on my 563 and had no problems accessing all the chapters... Perhaps there's a physical flaw with the disc?

    Miles
     

Share This Page