MX-500 and light dimming

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by BobR, Feb 25, 2004.

  1. BobR

    BobR Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    The MX-500 manual clearly states that macros can be set up to include dimming the lights. I have an X-10 controller with IR receiver and the MX-500 has no problem turning the lights on/off and dimming them. The problem is that I can't seem to put a "press and Hold" of the dim button into a macro. If this is the case, how can they say that dimming can be put into a macro? I have had limited success with programming repeated presses of the button but that gives a stepped dimming which is a little strange looking and hard to control. This seems pretty basic. Am I missing something or is the manual misleading on this subject?

    Thanks
     
  2. MikeSRC

    MikeSRC Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't put a "push-and-hold" into a macro (even with the MX-700). I believe the manual is referring to the stepped dimming that you mentioned, or smooth dimming may be possible with a different type of lighting control (Lutron, Lite-Touch etc.) that's supported by the MX-500.
     
  3. Jeff Detiege

    Jeff Detiege Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use the Lutron infrared light switch (Maestro?) with my Pronto remote. I have it programed with macros with preset light levels, for example, If I push play for the dvd player, the light will turn off. If I push pause, the light will dim to level 3. If I push stop, the light will turn all the way on. I have 5 levels of dim programed and the switch will go directly to the level I choose as a soft dim. Hope this helps.
     
  4. Cornelius

    Cornelius Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    What kind of lighting system do you have?

    CJ
     
  5. BobR

    BobR Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's just the basic X-1 stuff from Smarthome. A 4040 controller and lamp dimmer modules. I think it pretty much only supports on/off, all on/all off, bright and dim. Maybe I need some other features on the dimmer modules?
     
  6. Cornelius

    Cornelius Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't remember if the basic ones support direct level dimming, but I think not. If not, your only options are to hold the dim/bright button until you get to the level you want, or to upgrade your dimmers. You may want to ask your question at remotecentral.com, because it's been a long time since I used the basic dimmers and I may be remembering incorrectly.

    CJ
     

Share This Page