Motorola DCT5100 How is it?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dave Scarpa, Mar 20, 2003.

  1. Dave Scarpa

    Dave Scarpa Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 1999
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    49
    Real Name:
    David Scarpa
    Comcast has informed me that they offer Hi Def TV in my area and this is the box they offer for it... How is this Box... right now just HBO and Showtime. Anyone have these services?
     
  2. Jerry Dreiss

    Jerry Dreiss Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1998
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have HBO-HD as well as ABC and NBC HD channels, as well as PBS, which is showing a demo loop from HDnet.
    Simply awesome.
    Beautiful picture, great audio, easy to set up, and faster channel changing then my old digital box.
    In in Boston.
     
  3. Rob TT

    Rob TT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    the 5100 is a nice box, all the channels seemed to look better going to this box. Plus it has digital audio outputs. The cables they give you look pretty nice too.
     
  4. Dave Scarpa

    Dave Scarpa Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 1999
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    49
    Real Name:
    David Scarpa
    Comcast is coming tommorrow to hook me up. I'll be getting the 5100 in my setup. Currantly I have a DCT100 that is only being used for OTA broadcasts. I don't believe the 5100 can support OTA so I'll probably have to get a component switcher at some point. But to hook in only the cable box now would I connect it to the transcoder that the DTC 100 is currently connected to ? Is that all I need to do?
     

Share This Page