Marantz SR-7000: Setting levels across speakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jon Weingarden, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. Jon Weingarden

    Jon Weingarden Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just hooked up my old Marantz SR7000 using PCM (Optical) from my TV to the receiver and the Dolby setting.

    Its working in surround, but the center channel is a bit too loud; it overwhelms any warmth from the bass module or spatial impact of the surround speakers.

    How do I change the settings, like turning down the center speaker?

    I can't find the remote, but I'll keep looking in case I need it.

    (The center channel is turned way up because my dad is hard of hearing and we had it cranked so he could hear the narratives/conversations).
     
  2. jeffpell

    jeffpell Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Jeff Pell
    You can enter setup from the front panel on the receiver or from the remote if you find it. From there goto Speakers > Manual Setup > Levels. From there you can adjust the db levels of each speaker.
     
  3. Jon Weingarden

    Jon Weingarden Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see setup anywhere:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Yep, from the era of...

    "Lose the remote, you're screwed"
     
  5. sean1976

    sean1976 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Real Name:
    Sean H
     
  6. Jon Weingarden

    Jon Weingarden Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn, I hope I can find it. Anyone know of a place to get a backup / replacement? I emailed Marantz too.
     
  7. Type A

    Type A HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Real Name:
    Ty
    Remotes.com says theres no known substitute. I would buy a cheap Harmony remote, its likely one of the Marantz models in their database will work if the SR7000 itself isnt there. Just purchase the remote where you can easily return it if it doesnt work.
     
  8. gene c

    gene c Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    5,842
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bay area, Ca
    Real Name:
    Gene
    Or keep checking ebay. You could "probably" use a remote from just about any Marantz receiver from the same era, or even a much later model. They should all use the same codes.
     
  9. hilde.bijkersalakory

    hilde.bijkersalakory Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    U can use à harmony one, i did.
     

Share This Page