What's new

Lutron Maestro IR Issues (1 Viewer)

jmowbray

Auditioning
Real Name
Jared
Hello all this is my first time on this site. Talk about a lot of information!!!!! A little background about the room is that this house is owned by my parents currently and all renovation/cost/ideas go through them. The room is almost complete as the only thing left is to resurface the hard wood floor and paint the walls.

I seem to be having a issue with some of my theatre components. I'm running a DG-747 with 7.1 Onkyo system, sony BlueRay all ran with a Harmony 1100. I recently went out and purchased a Maestro IR dimmer (MIR-600M-WH) to run with my harmony (bc lets be real....controlling lights while watching a movie is COOL!!!) The lighting in the room is 6 6" recessed light cans. Currently there are CFLs in the cans until the renovation on the room in complete. Today the dimmer came and I installed it noticed the CFLs going crazy which I knew was an issue with the low voltage and compatibility with the dimmer. I have TCP 65 watt retrofit dimmable LED inserts for the room already purchased (which the parents purchased and love no changing their mind). I did a test with the dimmer and the LEDs they fade in and out with the remote perfect. Only one BIIIIGGGG issue though. When they fade out THEY DON"T GO OFF ALL THE WAY!!!!. I have no clue what to do. My parents are sticking with LED lights as the whole house contains them and that's what they want no questions. I feel like I have just wasted $40+ for a dimmer and face plate that wont ever work. I only hooked one light up would hooking all 6 make a difference? I also tried to set the lower dim level on the dimmer but it was already as low as it goes or I did it wrong.

Please someone I need some serious help!

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
I can't speak specifically about LEDs on dimmers (but everyone I've heard whose tried them said they didn't work well - even the "dimmable" ones).