What's new

Looking to get a 5.1 system. (1 Viewer)

Josh*C

Auditioning
Not only am I new to this site but I am also new to this whole audio and speakers thing. I figured that there would be a lot of audio buffs on this site so I could get some help.
Right now I have a cheap surround sound system and I am looking to upgrade big time. My budget is around 350$ for the whole. From what I have read so far it seems like it is a better idea to put together separate componets to make a system rather than just buying a home theater system as a whole. I've looked into both options but it would be great if I could get some advice from someone who know what they're talking about.
What I'm looking for out of this system is that it can play music pretty damn loud along with being a decent surround sound system for movies.
Before I share what I have found so far I have a few questions. If you get separate components of course your going to need a receiver. Lets say your speakers are 200 watts and you subwoofer and center speakers are 100 watts. If get a receiver that pumps out 200 watts per channel will you like blow up your sub and center? Basically what I'm asking is does the receiver have to be putting out as much power as what the lowest power part of your system can handle?
Ok so here's what I've found. I found these 200 watt speakers. just go to amazon and add this
/gp/product/B000065UTU/sr=1-22/qid=1143392289/ref=sr_1_22/103-4907404-4269466?%5Fencoding=UTF8&s=audio-video

I know that wattage has a lot to do with how loud they can go so I thought for the cheap price these would be good. I have also found a cheap 100 watt sub and a 125 watt center speaker. Now what I need is to find a good receiver as well. Any suggestions or changes to this system are more than welcome seeing as I'm not so knowledge able with all of this stuff.
The best systems that are already together that I found were these two. just go to amazon and add this