What's new

looking for speakers (1 Viewer)

BenLev

Agent
I have a SI mag 12 hooked up to an amp right now.

It is all hooked up to my computer. What I want to do is add speakers to it so I can actually hear some music. For those of you who don't know the sub is running at about 1400rms. I am looking for small speakers since space is limited. Also, i don't want to spend more than $500 total for the rest of my project. I will need a reciever and very nice speakers in the 500 price range. I am hoping the reciever will power the speakers and hopefully i will also be able to hook my sub up to the reciever. Then it would be perfect. Thanks for the help, I am new to this.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The speakers I own were created by Danny Ritchie, one of the co-designers of those X-LS speakers. The midbass used is the same as the one used in his GR Research A/V speakers. The design and performance looks almost identical to the A/V-1. WOW! I'd jump all over those...

Interesting that you have that particular sub...are you somehow related to PaulCA?

BenLev

Agent
//speakerbuilder.net/web_files/Projects/D3/dayton3.htm

That is what I am thinking of doing for speakers. Let me know what you think. I will power it using a yamaha reciever. So I will have the Yamaha reciever, an amp to power the mag 12 sub, and i will build 2 of those speakers that i showed. Will 1 yamaha reciever be able to power 2 of those speaker towers? I am looking at the Yamaha rx-v series.

And i have no idea who paulca is sorry.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Sorry, just curious how you found out about the SI Mag. It's not a very common sub.