Looking for Remote

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Todd~P, Mar 21, 2004.

  1. Todd~P

    Todd~P Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking for a one for all remote...I would like one to be able to change video on the tv...The one I use now when I hit TV/VD it just changes from "ANT1" to "ANT2"..It does not actually change the video...Thanks in advance

    Todd
     
  2. ClintS

    ClintS Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Although I dont own one it is my understanding that the "One-for-all" brand remotes are very capable. Try doing some searching at remotecentral.com you can buy an inexpesive cable called the JP1 cable and program just about any function you want from your computer.
     
  3. LewB

    LewB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't own one but the Harmony SST-659 has been getting some good ink lately.
     
  4. Byron_T

    Byron_T Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I own the Harmony SST-659 and it controls everything I have. It depends on how much cash you are looking to spend.
     
  5. TommyB

    TommyB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    As Clint said, a JP1 compatible "One for All" remote is very capable. The Radio Shack JP1 compatible remotes are excellent as well. I have the 15-2116 programmed to control 3 TiVos, HDTV receiver, Yamaha 1400, DVD, and CD player.

    Find out everything you want to know about JP1 at JP1 Forum
     
  6. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    11,791
    Likes Received:
    827
    Location:
    Michigan
    For a budget-priced remote, it's hard to beat the One For All units. I own one for our bedroom system. For our main home theater, though, I prefer something where I can label individual buttons with their proper functions and have clearly named macros or "activities". I am using a Harmony SST-659 for our HT to completely control seven components and absolutely love the remote.
     
  7. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Todd.

    You may have a Television problem, not a remote problem.

    Most televisions let you scroll through the various inputs. But only some televisions have buttons that jump you directly to AntA, Input1, etc.

    A remote with Macro/learning capability wont be able to help you unless your television supports the "Jump directly to input" feature.

    Look at the original remote. If it forces you to toggle through the inputs - you are stuck.

    There is another thing you can do if you have the equipment.

    Does your AV receiver offer SVideo switching? If so you can do this:

    - Run SVideo from every source (DVD, CATV box, Sat, Game) to your reciever.

    - Run 1 SVideo cable from the reciever output to the TV.

    Now you leave your television looking at the SVideo feed all the time and your reciever takes care of switching to different sources. (And almost all recievers have buttons to jump directly to a input).


    Radio Shack has some $20 adaptors that convert Composite video (single RCA cable colored yellow) to SVideo. This can make all your older sources like the VCR appear to be SVideo devices.

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. GerardoHP

    GerardoHP Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Real Name:
    Gerardo Paron
    Can anyone explain how the Harmony SST-659 compare to the Sony RM-AV3000 or the Phillips TSU500? I am looking for a remote to control all of my home theater functions (including the lights) and am not sure what to look for.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  9. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Todd, you are looking for "discrete codes" for the "one for all". What brand is your TV? You may be able to program a discrete code to switch the input even though the TV remote only allows toggling/scrolling. I have programmed these to switch the input and display mode of my Toshiba even though the default only toggles/scrolls. Check here under the program code for your TV:



    OFA Advanced/Discrete codes
     
  10. Qui-Gon John

    Qui-Gon John Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    How does the Harmony SST-659 compare with the MX-500. I am looking for a good Universal Remote to control:

    Pioneer 58" RPTV
    Pioneer 646A DVD Player
    JVC VCR
    Americast Digital Cable box
     
  11. Alan Wise

    Alan Wise Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had the Harmony ST-659 remote for over two weeks now and could not be happier.
    The set-up, down loads, and customer support have been excellent.
    It controls my Sony KP-57WS510 HDRPTV, Yamaha RX-V640 receiver, Sony DVPN725N DVD player, RCA VHS player, and Comcast/Motorola 6100(?) HD cable box.
    Anyone can use this remote, and the WAF is high.
    Combined with a modest price and good availability, it can't be beat IMO.


    Good Luck!

    Al. Wise
     

Share This Page