What's new

Looking for good bang for buck MiniDV Video Camera (1 Viewer)

Jon_Gregory

Stunt Coordinator
I have been looking at getting my first video camera for some time now. My problem is, there are so many models etc... to choose from. I have been trying to compare all of them, but that seems almost impossible. So what I would like from all of you is suggestions on something that would be a nice first camera. I am someone that likes high end without paying for it, so bang for my buck is a must. Other than this, what features should I be looking for etc... I am pretty new to this field and would like some help.

Thanks

CaseyL

Supporting Actor
I purchased a Canon Optura Xi, which is an expensive model, but I have used several of the other models, and they have all impressed me quite a bit. Other models used: GL-2 and the Optura 400.

Thomas Newton

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Thomas Newton

1. Ability to record from analog line input. Makes it easy to transfer home videos from an analog camcorder or VCR. This feature is missing from a lot of camcorders.

2. Ability to act as a real-time analog/FireWire bridge. Less important than #1 (if you have #1, but not #2, you can just record the analog source to a scratch tape and then import the video from the scratch tape).

3. Three-CCD sensor. Supposedly produces better picture quality. This used to be super-expensive (when I bought my single-CCD MiniDV camcorder, three-CCD units went for $2,000 and up). Now even some $600 models have it.

4. Good low-light ability. Check various ratings. (The last time Consumer Reports rated camcorders, they noted that none of the digital camcorders could match the top-rated analog camcorders for low-light handling, so 'good' is relative here.)

5. Image stabilizer.