LG 55 LCD/LED WiFi Connectivity Issue

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by hoosierhog88, Jun 30, 2010.

  1. hoosierhog88

    hoosierhog88 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello folks,


    The sales guy at Best Buy suggested I come here for a problem I'm having with my new 55 inch LG LCD/LED TV. The TV came with a wireless WiFi "dongle" that is supposed to be able to connect to my wireless network.


    I've tried placing the TV directly in front of the router and it still won't connect. I successfully connected the TV directly to the router using a Cat5 cable, but I just can't get the wireless to work.


    I even took the dongle back to Best Buy and had them exchange it with another one, but still no joy.


    I have a Cisco/Linksys E1000 router that is brand new and my laptops connect to it just fine. The USB ports on the TV are ok, as I have viewed pictures stored on a flash drive.


    When I place the dongle in the USB port on the TV, I can "see" the "wifi" tag, but the icon is grayed out and disabled... like it just isn't seeing the network.


    Any help is greatly appreciated. My head is sore from banging it on my desk.


    Thanks!


    Ray
     
  2. CB750

    CB750 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find it quite funny that the so called pro's at Best Buy or as they call themselves "The Geek Squad" can't fix your problem and sends you to the Armatures at Home Theater Forum for help. I don't have any experience with your problem but don't you have to make sure that you open the right ports on your Router that the TV wireless uses.
     
  3. avatar57

    avatar57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try the obvious? Contact LG customer support guys?


    Well, I had issues with the Wi-Fi dongle too. Like, the TV would just hang after the dongle got connected to my modem. Initially I thought it was some incompatible settging in my modem. The LG rep helped run some test and at least it helped me to confirm that the dongle was a defective one!

    Good Luck!
     
  4. Guest

    Same exact problem for me but with a D-Link router. All of our other wifi devices located at the same location as the TV connect fine. Have you had any luck figuring this out? We contacted LG and they sent out a tech who gathered all the info of our setup, Model TV, model of the dongle, model of the router so he could contact LG. They are clueless. Thier solution is going to be to replace the "Main Board". Waiting for parts and will know if that solves the problem on a few weeks.
     
  5. Guest

    dupe
     
  6. jmae1925

    jmae1925 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice one
     
  7. hoosierhog88

    hoosierhog88 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I never got this figured out. I finally just gave up. LG support is stumped as is Best Buy. I'm hoping someone here comes along with the answer.


    I took my dongle out to Best Buy, just to see if they'd plug it in and see if the TV on the display would "see" the dongle and they woudn't even do that.


    I'm pissed but not to the point of taking the thing back. You'd think LG would be more aggressive in fixing this, but they can barely speak english, let alone figure out a complicated technical issue.
     
  8. hoosierhog88

    hoosierhog88 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seriously doubt this will fix the problem, but it's worth a shot I guess. Please keep us posted!
     
  9. Guest

    Ok, Tech came out today and replaced the main board and it works perfect. One thing we did notice after the fix is that the power light on the dongle was much brighter after the fix. It searched for wireless and had a list of availible AP's including my router. I had problems getting by my WEP on the router so I disabled it to make sure it would connect and worked fine. Later I set my router to WPA-Personal (d-link router) cuase the TV wouldn't connect using the standard WEP setup I had been using.


    So, Call LG, if your TV is under warrenty they can send out a tech to take a look at the TV... They will probably try everything else first but once it comes down to no solution other than replacing the main board it should fix the problem.


    Total time for resolution... about 1 month


    LG customer support was friendly but couldn't solve the problem...suggested replacing the dongle so that was 2 weeks turnaround mailing it off for a new one. When the 2nd dongle didn't work they sent out a tech who gathered info about the problem to talk to LG support. They were at a loss and suggested swapping the main board. Took a little over a week for part to arrive & be replaced.


    Good Luck


    Matt
     
  10. hoosierhog88

    hoosierhog88 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Matt, thanks for the update. I'm glad you were able to get this resolved. I'm going to contact LG today and ask them what they want to do.


    Like you, the LED on the dongle isn't very bright, so I suspect I may have the same problem as you. I should have taken the TV back to Best Buy within the 30 day return policy date and made them eat it, but it's so big to move around, I just hated to mess with it.


    Again, thanks!


    Ray
     
  11. hoosierhog88

    hoosierhog88 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    UPDATE: I had LG service check out the TV and like Matt mentioned, they replaced the main board. The network now connects and all is well. Thanks Matt for the heads up. I'm glad this thing works now.

    Ray
     
  12. lostinspace2011

    lostinspace2011 Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you please post the version number including firmware after the upgrade. I just encountered the same issue and was wondering if this is really a hardware problem (physical defect), or if they had to upgrade the software (including those burnt on the chips). I am really upset with LG about shipping such poor quality. Hopefully they will be able to help me.


    Also how did you contact LG? Did you go via BestBuy, or via their call centre? Was it really LG who came out themselves. I am treading taking the big thing back to the shops.
     
  13. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,284
    Likes Received:
    281
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    John,


    Welcome to the forum.


    The post you're replying to is 10 months old. It could be more successful to either PM Ray or try to send an e-mail.

    Anyway, I do hope he will see this and reply to you. Good luck!



    Cees
     
  14. tanklage1

    tanklage1 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i bought my lg bout a year ago and still do not have wireless! it did not come with a dongle (have never heard of one either :) i was trying to connect it to my mac is this possible? i had finally gave up (know what u went thru n it aint fun) but now that i read this i am willin to give it another shot will the lg work with a mac????? tia
     

Share This Page