JVC HDMI Problem

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Juan Pegler, Aug 14, 2013.

Tags:
  1. Juan Pegler

    Juan Pegler Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried all 3 HDMI ports on the TV. I have 2 x 1.3 HDMI Cables and 2 x 1.4 and I have tried Both 1.4 cables.
     
  2. RolandL

    RolandL Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    817
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    Real Name:
    Roland Lataille
    So when my receiver shows Dolby Digital 5.1 on it screen you think it's lying to me?

    His receiver doesn't do lossless so thats a moot point.
     
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    To the OP. Not sure what to tell you.

    I went through this myself yesterday swapping out a BD player and two DVD players down to one region free BD and a DVD player that does DSD over HDMI.

    I turned everything off, flipped the power switch to the "electronics wall", let it all sit while I brewed some coffee.

    With my cup of coffee in hand, took about 45 minutes swapping out and dusting at the same time. That was with the power out for 20 minutes already.

    An hour later it was time to flip the power switch and turn stuff on. I had no problems and I was shocked. One of the items I swapped in was a Pioneer/Elite DV49. Thankfully it wasn't the "HDMI rain dance and seance" the outgoing DV420 was.

    And to Roland. Every single other TV I've ran across(I haven't dealt with a Sony TV since Sony became irrelevant 8 years ago) does not pass 5.1 from incoming HDMI. They even say so in the manual. Maybe Sony plays nice with the PS3 in that regard. Anyway, using your TV "as the AV hub" is never done...ever.
     
  4. Juan Pegler

    Juan Pegler Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also clueless at this point. But I do appreciate you trying. I am going to mark this as "solved" Because I will just be happy that I don't have to get rid of my sound or TV and that I can use it VIA Optical.
     
  5. RolandL

    RolandL Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    817
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    Real Name:
    Roland Lataille
    It is done when your TV is 3D ready and your old receiver is not. This is my setup for the Sony TV in the family room. The Sony does have an option to send the sound to the TV speakers or "audio system". If TV is selected, the receiver gets 2.0. If "audio system" is selected, its 5.1.

    The manual does say it passes 5.1, see below

    http://docs.esupport.sony.com/imanual/NA/EN/2a-15/speakermenu_uc_col.html

    For my home theatre room, I connect cable box, Blu-ray 3D and HD-DVD players to my Denon receiver through HDMI and then HDMI from receiver to Panasonic AE8000 projector.
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    And your link says "output TV sound".Not audio from something else.
     
  7. RolandL

    RolandL Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    817
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    Real Name:
    Roland Lataille
    Give it up Sam. You lost. Admit it. It says "Dolby Digital" and displays 5 speakers and the sub woofer on the receiver.
     
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    No I haven't "lost".

    You have a PS3 connected to a Sony TV. Maybe Sony lets HDMI 5.1 audio pass from Sony products.

    Your TV is in the .04%* of TV out there that pass 5.1 from incoming HDMI. Period, end of story.

    *And yes...
    .04%
     
  9. RolandL

    RolandL Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    817
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    Real Name:
    Roland Lataille
    Finally!
     
  10. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    :rolleyes:

    You are the one missing out on lossless audio and DTS with the connection the way it is.

    Or do you just use your PS3 as a glorified Roku...
     
  11. RolandL

    RolandL Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    817
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    Real Name:
    Roland Lataille
    I'm not missing out on anything.

    If I want lossless and DTS for sound, watch a 2D or 3D movie, I go to my home theatre room with a 138 inch wide screen.

    If I want to play a video game or watch a TV show in my family room, I have my 55 inch Sony and 5.1 Dolby Digital sound.
     
  12. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Oh, so you expect your compromised secondary system to be the answer for everyone else...
     
  13. RolandL

    RolandL Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    817
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    Real Name:
    Roland Lataille
    ?
     

Share This Page