What's new

James EMB 1000 subwoofer (1 Viewer)

MilesMM

Auditioning
Has anyone had a chance to demo the James EMB 1000? There have been some positive reviews however I've yet to hear/see any user reviews. I have one now and I'm comparing it to an SVS 25-31 PC+. As a newbie I'm fairly sure I don't have the subs properly calibrated. Nevertheless, the SVS sounds and feels much louder however this can be due in part to it being in a corner. The James due to it's small size is positioned between my fronts (Paradigm 60's V.3). The James "seems" a little leaner despite the gain being significanly higher than the SVS. For slam impact during a movie there is no comparison. That's nice but my usage leans much more to music (70%/30%). I listen mostly to classic jazz and R&B. The James seems more than up to that task. The wife prefers the size of the James however opinions cost $$. She isn't kicking in any so she doesn't have one. Any thoughts? Let's keep it simple for the new guy OK. Thanks!

Arthur S

Senior HTF Member
Miles

Welcome to the forum,

you have had a chance to demo the James. Not only that you have a real fine sub to compare it to. As I read your post, music is much more important to you than movies and you say the James is "more than up to that task".

Remember, the only opinion that counts is yours. Your wife likes the James better for asthetic reasons. You're happy with it, she's happy with it.

Only other consideration is down the line the James may not retain as much value since it is obscure. Sub should last 10 years. Value at that point probably won't matter.

I hope this helps. Don't worry about what other people think, you know what you like. Calibration does not seem to be the issue.

Artie

Tom Vodhanel

Senior HTF Member
To be as fair as possible to both subs, you should try keeping their placement and calibration levels as close as possible to one another too.

Tom V.
SVS

CurtisSC

Screenwriter