Issues with 3:10 to Yuma??

Discussion in 'Blu-ray and UHD' started by froggi3, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. froggi3

    froggi3 Extra

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone having any technical issues with 3:10 to Yuma? My BDP1200 will not play my blu ray copy, I get a "loading" icon, one with gears and it stays on the screen. I have the latest firmware, have rebooted the player, cleaned the disc....this is very puzzling.[​IMG]
     
  2. ManW_TheUncool

    ManW_TheUncool Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,962
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    The BK
    Real Name:
    ManW
    Isn't that a profile 1.1 release? If so, perhaps you might need another forthcoming firmware update. [​IMG]

    _Man_
     
  3. PeterMano

    PeterMano Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problems for me on the ps3. I have no familiarity with your player so I can't offer any help there. Could be a bad copy. Have you tried it on another machine if possible.
     
  4. Chris S

    Chris S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    4
    Real Name:
    Chris S
    I've seen other reports about long load times but not playback issues. If you bought it at BB or CC I would suggest taking it back to them and see if they could play it in one of their demo units. If not then I beat it's a problem with the disc.
     
  5. Derek_J

    Derek_J Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Google BDP1200 Yuma, first item it comes up with.
     
  6. Don May Jr

    Don May Jr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just finished watching my BD Netflix rental on a PS3. No issues to speak of... good movie, too!

    Played perfectly... only took a few extra seconds than usual to load.
     
  7. Shane Martin

    Shane Martin Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 1999
    Messages:
    6,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Played perfectly on a PS3. Gorgeous PQ. Awesome sound, Killer movie.
     
  8. Chris S

    Chris S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    4
    Real Name:
    Chris S
    From what reading I could stand to do over at AVS it appears the DBP1200 has issues with more than just 3:10 to Yuma. Sunshine also is being reported as problematic. Sadly not only BD discs are having problems but also SD DVD titles as well.
     
  9. Jason Seaver

    Jason Seaver Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    9,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    It loaded in my BD-P1000, but the (seemingly endless) trailer reel was a bit off-center, with garbage at the bottom of the screen whenever the full frame was used. Fortunately, the movie itself is 'scope, so that's not a problem. I may need to crank the sound later.
     
  10. genomovie

    genomovie Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0



    Yes, I had the same problem as you. I also have the BDP1200. It is not the disc. I have a Sony player also, and it played on my Sony after a long, long loading time, and after three different attempts on the sony, it finally played. This is after, I just put the upgrade firmware 2.0 on the Samsung to get it to play the disc of "Rescue Dawn". "Rescue Dawn" was doing the same thing.[​IMG]
     
  11. RickER

    RickER Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Real Name:
    Rick
    Played on my Sony BDS300, but it did take a good minute to load the JAVA stuff. Cool Rambo trailer BTW!
     
  12. Douglas Monce

    Douglas Monce Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes Received:
    12
    This film plays fine on my Samsung BD-P1000. Although it is fairly slow to load. Interestingly the PIP feature works on my player as well, leading me to believe that this is ether not a 1.1 disc, or it has both a 1.1 overlay as well as the effected scenes in place in a branching version with the PIP superimposed.

    Very nice presentation. My only complaint is that they shot it in New Mexico rather than Arizona.

    Doug
     
  13. froggi3

    froggi3 Extra

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback guys, it obviously is the player, I tried it in my girlfriend's PS3 and it worked flawlessly. Oh well, have to wait for a firmware update I suppose....not gonna scrap the bd p1200, the picture quality is too good [​IMG]
     
  14. Michel_Hafner

    Michel_Hafner Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    110
    I have an issue with this disc but it's not player related. The Y and UV signals are not in proper sync (to put it in layman's terms) which results in color fringing around edges and unnecessary jaggies. Easy to see at 1080p with the opening credits but also in the film with colored edges popping up regularly.
     

Share This Page