What's new

ISF Calibration ??? (1 Viewer)

SeanA

Second Unit
I am new to all this home theater tech stuff, but trying to learn by reading the discussions in this forum. One of the givens seems to be that even the best TV's need to be calibrated... either by a professional or as a DIY'er. I have ordered the AVIA disc and plan to try the calibration myself. As a newbie, what are my chances of getting even a mild improvement in color accuracy using the AVIA calibration disc ??? Would I have been wiser to spend my $$$ on a professional calibration ???

I am also curious what "ISF" stands for ?

NOTE: I have the Sony KV-34XBR800 & will use it primarily for viewing DVD's.

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
Most TV's defaults (factory settings) are set way off from their proper settings. You will notice the TV's in the electronics stores all playing the same meterial and every one at a different colour as well. AVIA will help to get things much closer to what they should be. A professional ISF calibration goes much deeper and involves internal controls of the TV to get things even better. ISF (Image Science Foundation).

SeanA

Second Unit
Thanks Neil & Mike,

Some great information !!! I guess I will give the AVIA disc a shot, and if I still want more, I will get an ISF technician in my home. Fortunately, the shop I purchased the TV from is excellent and they have their own in-house ISF technician.

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
AVIA is good to have. I calibrated my system with it, as well as the previous setup as well. If you ever change things you can always calibrate again with it. I just happen to be getting a calibration done fairly soon so I am sure the image quality will only improve more.

Mark Paquette

Supporting Actor
SeanA,