Is this possible?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Justin_D, Feb 19, 2004.

  1. Justin_D

    Justin_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I have an Onkyo TX-SR501 rated @ 65wpc
    It has 6.1 Channel inputes

    If I were to buy the Harman Kardon DPR1001 with pre-outs, could I use the pre-outs into the 6.1 channel inputs, and bi-amp all of my speakers?

    Would it sound okay being that they are 2 different receivers with different sounds?
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    I'd look for a used amp rather than add another receiver, or just get a single, better receiver (I'd lean towards the amp).

    What speakers are you using? Theoretically, it should work though. Why not just get another 501 if you want to go with a receiver? The 1001 uses digital amps, so the two may sound different, but whether or not that will be bad I can't say.
     
  3. Justin_D

    Justin_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    The TX-Sr501 doesn't have pre-outs [​IMG]
     
  4. AndrewErickson

    AndrewErickson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you feel the need to bi-amp your speakers? I'll bet you'll see little difference for the pain and expense.

    Buy a new receiver. Good deals at www.onecall.com on the Harman kardon AVR325.
     
  5. Justin_D

    Justin_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats exactly what I may do!
    I'm wondering if I can use my old receiver w/ 6.1 inputes to bi-amp.

    The point is: Why not use my old receiver, even if its for minimal benefits?
     
  6. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Because you will likely do better to sell the 501 and get one receiver that is already capable of pumping out the current that you need, say a 701? Maybe you could find a discounted SR800?

    What speakers?
     
  7. Justin_D

    Justin_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Polk all around
    RTi6
    CSI30 (may get a CSi3)
    R15 (may upgrade)
    Velodyne Sub (CHT12)
     
  8. Chris Sherman

    Chris Sherman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1998
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    I second the sell the SR501 and get the HK AVR 325 while it's on clearance at One Call. I own this receiver and it sounds terrific . It also has the pre-outs you would need to upgrade to seperate amps later. I use an Outlaw M200 monoblock for my center , which carries between 70-90% of the load depending on who you listen to. I also use another M200 to drive My SVS 25-31 CS. I'm very happy with this combo.
     
  9. Justin_D

    Justin_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    With a receiver w/ pre-outs, can you tell it which speaker to power and which not to power so the speakers powered by the receiver get more wattage?
     
  10. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    When there is no speaker hooked to an output, there is no current going to it, allowing that current to be used for the ones that are hooked up, however, this does not mean the remaining channels will now have more power going to them, it just means they are no longer competing for that power from the power supply (headroom).
     
  11. JohnnyN

    JohnnyN Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    unless you are going to disable passive crossovers in the speakers and add active cross over between soure and amp, i don't think its worth it.
     

Share This Page