Is this HDMI 1.4 cable fine?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Ronald Epstein, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,620
    Likes Received:
    4,487
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    It's hard to believe I'm now looking at moving from

    HDMI 1.3 to 1.4.


    But that is what happens when upgrading to a 3D display.


    So, basically, I know that one need not buy expensive
    HDMI cable.

    Someone let me know if this cable properly meets the

    specs of delivering high performance 1.4 delivery.


    http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024008&p_id=3993&seq=1&format=2


    Thanks
     
  2. Charles Smith

    Charles Smith Extremely Talented Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,210
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Nor'east
    Real Name:
    Charles Smith
    Oh man, I guess I'd better be learning this stuff myself. In a few days I'll have a new 50" Panasonic VT25 which, thanks to a package deal at Best Buy, is also getting me a Panny 3D player and glasses -- which is hilarious because I've had absolutely zero interest in jumping on the 3D bandwagon. And I'm still pretty "eh" about the whole thing. But this deal for the TV itself made taking the package a no-brainer. Anyway...


    I told the salesman I already have high-speed HDMI cables (without telling him they're Monoprice), so am I set for cables? He said yes.


    But I don't know one version of HDMI from another. Whatever I've had for watching movies up till now has worked. In addition to cables, how about receivers? I run everything through my Pioneer VSX-21TXH, but do I know what version of HDMI that's up to? Hell no. Does this even apply to receivers?


    Normally I do the homework in advance, but as I said, this deal sort of plopped into my lap. Thanks in advance...
     
  3. Charles Smith

    Charles Smith Extremely Talented Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,210
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Nor'east
    Real Name:
    Charles Smith
    A little more info. Consistent with what Ronald posted, here are the HDMI cables I have. MonoPrice's description states ""[FONT= 'Verdana']3D Support [/FONT]- Supports several different methods of rendering 3D images", but I don't see anything about HDMI version.


    Components to receiver:

    3FT 28AWG High Speed HDMI Cable w/Ferrite Cores


    http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024008&p_id=3951&seq=1&format=2


    Receiver to TV:

    20FT 22AWG CL2 High Speed HDMI Cable (went for heavier "professional" grade because of length)


    http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024001&p_id=3989&seq=1&format=2


    Thanks again.
     
  4. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,214
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    This is from the HDMI.org site.





    So from what I can tell you just need to make sure your HDMI cable if rated as High Speed and that the
    additional Ethernet Channel-enabled is not needed for 3D.


    I would be willing to use the high quality HDMI cables that I have from Blue Jeans Cable and

    see how well it works with a 3D system before spending the extra money on a cable I don't need.
     
  5. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,620
    Likes Received:
    4,487
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Blue Jeans was my first source for cables.


    However, they certainly aren't labeling any of them

    as being 1.4 or high speed compatible.


    In this transitional and very confusing time of moving

    towards a new cable standard I would have hoped that

    all cable vendors would post better product information.


    Most people right now are very uneducated about the

    new 1.4 standard. I feel stupid asking a question about

    HDMI cable. With 1.3 I knew that I could go for cheap HDMI

    solutions. However, moving up to 1.4 there now seems to

    be this "unknown" as to what kind of cable to buy and if

    you need to spend more money than you would have with 1.3.
     
  6. Jason Charlton

    Jason Charlton Ambassador

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    395
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Real Name:
    Jason Charlton
    To me, the most telling point is that the PS3 just had a firmware update that made it "3D Enabled". The PS3 is an HDMI 1.3 device. HDMI 1.4 is a hardware spec - it can't be updated without replacing some sort of hardware component. Therefore, the HDMI 1.3 PS3 is either completely capable of creating full HD 3D, OR everyone who owns a PS3 has been lied to, and the recent firmware update isn't what it's claimed to be.


    I find I extremely unlikely that the latter is true.


    HDMI 1.4 provides audio return channel and ethernet capability, neither of which is required for 3D. It's been widely regarded since the dawn of HDMI that the cables have had the bandwidth capacity to easily carry full 1080p video and then some. It bugs me to no end that the HDMI team themselves are contributing to this idea of "fast, faster, fastest" cables... but that's a rant for another time.


    I find it much more likely that hardware devices (like A/V receivers) would be the bottleneck in the video stream - hence the requirement that the hardware be 1.4 compliant.


    Of course, this is just my thought process - I don't have any firsthand experience with 3D (and don't anticipate having any in the foreseeable future).
     
  7. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,214
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    The guys at Blue Jeans Cable sent me the following.



    So really no need to upgrade cables if you already have some good ones from companies like Blue Jeans Cable.
     
  8. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,620
    Likes Received:
    4,487
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    All the cables I own are from Blue Jeans Cable so I am good to go.
     
  9. Charles Smith

    Charles Smith Extremely Talented Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,210
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Nor'east
    Real Name:
    Charles Smith
    What excellent -- lucid and helpful -- articles! Thank you.
     
  10. chuckg

    chuckg Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can state that the PS3 does indeed handle 3D, and as well as the Sammy BD player that came with my bundle.


    What they did do on PS3 was limit the bandwidth requirement by not providing lossless audio with 3D (so I've heard) since I have no way to test that, I'll just assume it is true.


    The parts-n-pieces in the PS3 are probably fully capable of transmitting the data at the rates needed for 3D, and only a little software tweaking was needed to read the disk and transmit the data in the proper format.



    Besides, I'd be willing to bet that barbed wire would transmit HDMI at full rez.
     

Share This Page