Is there any way to make a mock webpage?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Micheal, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. Micheal

    Micheal Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is what I mean. As a prank I want to take an existing web page like "Crime library" and put a photo of my friend on the main page along with a description of what he did.

    I can change the photo, I've figured out that much. (Save page as > web page complete. Go into the folder and change the jpg.) But I can't change the existing text. Any ideas?

    I've tried saving the page every which way but I can't seem to figure out how to change the picture AND the text.

    I'm using Mozilla Firefox.

    PS- This does not need to be available online of course, I just need to display the altered web page on a PC.

    There has got to be an easy way.

    Thanks in advance,

    Mike
     
  2. MarkHastings

    MarkHastings Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    12,013
    Likes Received:
    1
    you can open the HTML page in a text editor. If you're unfamiliar with the code in there, it may be a bit confusing, but at least you can do a quick search (in the text editor) for a sentence (that you want to change) and you'll be able to see the text you need to replace.

    Just resave the file and you're done.
     
  3. TheoGB

    TheoGB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, if you have Word then open the saved page using Word and you should get a WYSIWYG editor to allow you to fix the page. [​IMG]
     
  4. Micheal

    Micheal Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you! Word seems to be doing the trick but is giving me some sort of warning about not having enough memory. Any way to fix that?

    Seems to work for the most part though...
     
  5. TheoGB

    TheoGB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds a bit concerning. How much RAM / free hard drive space do you have?
     
  6. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
    There used to be a fake CNN news generator that would create links starting with CNN's URL. The trick? All web servers have a redirect port (so it looks like you are clicking on CNN but you are actually going to website XYZ). The site got yanked after a few weeks but you should be able to do the same thing using the redirect port or other 'trick' (@ symbol, etc.).

    In other words, you can use the actual URL from the crime website and redirect it to your page (making it seem more real).
     
  7. Leila Dougan

    Leila Dougan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want your fake page to display instead of a specific page, you can add it to the host file.
     
  8. Micheal

    Micheal Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    0
    TheoGB, I have 256 MB of RAM and about 30 GB of free HD space.

    Thanks for the tips guys/gals. Very useful...
     
  9. TheoGB

    TheoGB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, well unless you're using older versions of Word and Windows, 256 isn't really a lot of RAM. Still, I don't remember ever getting such messages on my old PIII 800 win98SE system with that amount.

    Are you using Win ME by any chance? That definitely had 'memory leak' problems. If you're using XP or 2000 maybe you should upgrade the RAM as 1GB is a more comfortable amount.

    Still, it sounds like the 'wrong' error message is being generated to me, but I'm not sure why or how.
     
  10. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    1
    If the page links to an external style sheet and javascript file it may look all funky if you try to save the page itself and run it from your harddrive.
     

Share This Page