What's new

is there a dvd-player out there to fit my needs? (1 Viewer)

Abe Rodrigue

Stunt Coordinator
Hi everyone-
I am really new to this home theater stuff and have (what I think) bumbled together a pretty decent set-up.
TV: Toshiba 57hx83
Reciever: Denon 3805
Sub: SVS PCi 20-39
Fronts: Klipsh Reference series RB-35's and an RC-35
Surrounds: (3) Jamo in ceiling three way speakers

Now the only thing that I need is a DVD player that........
holds multiple disks,
plays DVD-R's and RW's,
plays CD-R's and RW's,
plays MP-3's,
has progressive scan,
has great picture quality.
Also, what else should I look for that could be a very important feature??!!
I had my heart set on a denon, but none of their models fit the bill.
I have about 500 dollars to spend so, something in that price range.

What are my options? HELP!

SethH

Senior HTF Member
Are you willing to buy on Ebay? If so, Denon is in your range. There are several 2200's available right now. The first one that popped up for me was Buy It Now for $475 plus S/H $24 = $499. It says it's brand new in the box and the seller has 100% positive feedback. By most accounts this is a great player, so if you've got $500 to drop on it, go for it.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
2200 is single disc, not a changer, but it does meet all your other criteria. I'd say its the best bet in the price range.

Stephen Hopkins

HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
The 1815 would do great, as would the 2815 if you also want DVD-A and SACD support. Watch www.ecost.com for some great deals on Denon Authorized Factory Refurbished items.

Hope this helps :)

Abe Rodrigue

Stunt Coordinator
It looks to me that the denon 1815 and the 2815 don't play cd-r's and -rw's. That Is a very important feature to me. I researched further and found last years 4800 looks to have all of the bells and whistles that I am looking for, any comment on this machine?

Mark:F

Stunt Coordinator