Is my hard drives damaged enough?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Michael Ballack, Apr 7, 2005.

1. Michael Ballack

Michael Ballack Second Unit

Hey everyone, I need your advice. It was time to get rid of my older computers and I wanted to make sure no one would get my info on the hard drive. I've heard one of the best ways is to take a hammer to a hard drive and bash the shit out of it. So I did just that. The following is a photo of what's left of it. I'm not a professional photographer, but I hope you experts can tell me if I did a good enough job to not have to worry about anyone getting anything off of it. Thank you.

[​IMG]

2. Christ Reynolds

Christ Reynolds Producer

CJ
    and hopefully not a professional computer technician either! [​IMG]

CJ

3. Mary M S

Mary M S Screenwriter

At the moment, I would like to apply the same treatment to my case/power supply/CPU/Mobo/router etc.

Next time, can I help?

needing to vent my computer related frustrations somewhere. That looks like FUN! [​IMG]

4. Michael Ballack

It was fun. I got a lot of anger out of me just bashing the hell out of it. Great stress reliever. I felt like Christopher and Tony B in the episode on the Sopronos when they were bashing skulls with sledge hammers. [​IMG]

5. David_Moechnig

David_Moechnig Stunt Coordinator

I shot one with 00 buck shot from a 12 gauge shtgun once. Only I did it for fun, not to keep people from reading old data.

6. Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson Cinematographer

Al
    It certainly looks like you had a good time!

Next time, if you aren't in quite the same mood, I suggest you perform a DoD 7 pass wipe and then for good measure drill a couple of holes through the platters. Even if you like the hammer approach I would do the wipe first.

7. Michael Ballack