Is it possible to connect a HTPC to television via firewire?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Dave Dahl, Apr 25, 2004.

  1. Dave Dahl

    Dave Dahl Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I am curious if it is possible to construct a simple home theater pc and connect it to my Mits Diamond 65813 via a firewire cable.

    I would think that it is yet I have not, after much searching, been able to find any information pro or con.


    Any ideas?


    Thanks!

    Dave
     
  2. Wayde_R

    Wayde_R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    All I can offer is that I've heard firewire only has the bandwidth for a resolution of 480P, no more. Which is probably fine if you're just wanting to play DVDs.

    I've heard there are soundcards out there with DVI outputs.
     
  3. BeatCrazy

    BeatCrazy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firewire can support 1080i easily.

    Your PC may not talk to your TV unless it has HAVi or other interface that the TV can recognize. The connection may be right, but the "language" might be all wrong.
     
  4. Sean Moon

    Sean Moon Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh firewire would have the capacity for 1080i, no problem at all. If an HD broadcast usually is about 20-25MB per second, and firewire transmits 400MB per second, I would say it has more than enough space to send the signal.

    However, is the computer sending compatable info down that wide pipeline?
     
  5. Wayde_R

    Wayde_R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I was confused about what I said about Firewire.

    This is what I actually read somewhere:

    "FireWire...can carry onlycompressed digital signals, such as the original MPEG video steam from a DTV broadcast, whereas DVI carries noncompressed digital RGB. An important item to check is whether a set's DVI input is HDCP-compliant." -Micheal Riggs, Sound & Vision.

    So, is firewire HDCP compliant? I didn't know there were DVI ports that weren't.

    Sam, I haven't heard of this HAVi, I'll have to do some reading on it. But is this the hurdle that using a PC video utility like "powerstrip" helps to overcome?

    I am also interested in the results of video upon an HDTV. Maybe my questions should go into another thread, I don't mean to hijack this one.
     
  6. BeatCrazy

    BeatCrazy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wayde_R,

    Although I'm not 100% familiar with the PC software you mentioned, I don't believe it has HAVi capability. From www.mitsubishi-tv.com



    Dave, if you really want to to an HTPC, IMO, you should just buy a video card with DVI output, and connect to your 65813 in that manner.
     
  7. Jerry Klawiter

    Jerry Klawiter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Sean Moon

    Sean Moon Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didnt mention the Firewire 800 that many new MACs are having now, as it is still pretty new and not as widespread as normal Firewire 400
     
  9. Ramon A

    Ramon A Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you are interested in hptc you should go to the computer area they might have more info.
    if you search yahoo htpc search you will find many sites that will assist you as well as how to build from scratch an htpc for $1000-1500 that will do everything you ever wanted and more with a case that looks more like an av receiver than a pc
     

Share This Page