What's new

If not Bose, then what? (1 Viewer)

TomA

Auditioning
OK, so I'm new at this and apparently I'm one of those novices that thought that Bose was very good. Please don't shoot! I haven't bought anything yet! Fortunately, I've begun research and that's how I found this forum.

What I'm looking for is some advice from some of you who are more knowledgeable than me in the HT arena.

Specifically I'm looking for a surround speaker system for under $1,000. I already have a receiver (Panasonic SA-HE100). One of the deciding factors for selecting this receiver was that it ranked #1 in Consumer Reports and it retails for $300. Don't have a fancy TV yet, that will come in another year or so, but I do have a 27" stereo TV.

One of the reasons the Bose Acoustimass 10 appealed to me was the speaker size. The wife is fighting me all of the way on this because she doesn't want big speakers on the floor or tables and if they are on the wall they must be SMALL.

So can anyone point me to a few speaker systems to check out that fit my description? I don't know where to start!

FYI, I enjoy good sound, but I'm not going to sit around trying to pick out all of the nuances and flaws of any system. I just want to enjoy some movies and music. The room size is approximately 12x16 joined to an open kitchen of approximately 8x16.

Thanks

MarcianoD

Grip
I have had bose, jvc, kenwood, nad, and Sony. my preference is Sony was the best out of all I had.
I am by no means experienced or as knowledgable as others here. But I have found I like Sony the best out of all I have tried.

dan-0

Stunt Coordinator
Are you looking for a 5.1, 6.1, or 7.1 system?

I will assume a 5.1 system for now. For home theatre I have enjoyed the NHT superzeroes or superones, coupled with a good sub.

I've pieced together the following NHT system for my HT off ebay, audiogon, and new from factory. I bought only speakers that were advertised as mint, and all did come that way.