What's new

I need help with installation of my home theater system! (1 Viewer)

v0lten

Auditioning
Real Name
Eric
Hi guys, thanks for reading in advance. Im stuck.

Im a pretty tech savvy person and Ive always been the guy who people go to to hook up their electronics and home theaters. Now, when Im trying to do my own in my new house, Im running into trouble.

Heres the equipment;

TV - LG 55" LED LCD - Model # 55LH90 www.lge.com/us/tv-audio-video/televisions/LG-lcd-tv-55LH90.jsp

Cable HD DVR - Motorolla - Model # DCH6416 www.motorola.com/Consumers/XW-EN/Consumer-Products-and-Services/Home-Digital-Video/DCH6416_XW-EN

Receiver - Yamaha - Model # HTR-6130 slcomfort.com.ua/images/lot/hi-fi/resiver/yamaha/RX-V363.jpg

Blu-Ray - LG - Model # BD370 www.pcworld.com/reviews/product/58638/review/bd370.html

First off, I have yet to try hooking up the blu ray player yet. So, this is how I hooked everything up so far. I connected the DVR to the TV via HDMI cable. I connected the Yamaha receiver to the DVR via red and white audio plugs in the DVR IN slot on the reciever and the plugs in the Audio Out on the DVR. (ive also tried reversing these).

Now I turn down the TV volume and switch the reciever to DVR. I can turn the volume all the way up and there is nothing coming out of the reciever. I know the speakers are working because the only other source I can get to work is Tuner, and it blasts through the speakers at the volume it should be.

Is there a better way I should be hooking up my components, Ive always done it like this (usually with lesser equipment), but its always worked.

Also I dont know if it has something to do with maybe different sound settings in the actual receiver itself. One bad thing about it is it was an open box item and I just found out there is no remote control for it. I do have a Harmony remote and it has most of the options I think the original had, but not all of them.

Any help is greatly appreciated!