What's new

I need a laptop recommendation for travel: where and how much? (1 Viewer)

Jonathan Burk

Second Unit
Real Name
Jonathan Burk
I'm thinking of getting a laptop to take on the road with me, and I'm kind of new to the world of portable computing. I'll be traveling a lot, and in addition to using it for business stuff, I'd like to use if for entertainment.

I'd like to be able to:

-watch DVD's and DIVX movies (are there different screen options that look better for movies?)
-play games such as Warcraft III and Rise of Nations

For business, it's got to have XP Pro.

Since I can't build one from scratch, should I go direct from Dell or Compaq? Or get one at Costco or Fry's and upgrade XP? Or can I get away with buying an older used one (with a 1-1.5ghz CPU?) and upgrading the HD and RAM?

Also, what are the essential accessories for travel, especially using it on an airplane? Is there a good travel case that is worth getting, or should I just expect to use what I can get when I buy the laptop?

Thanks for any help or advice...

Jonathan Burk

Second Unit
Real Name
Jonathan Burk
I'm thinking of getting a laptop to take on the road with me, and I'm kind of new to the world of portable computing. I'll be traveling a lot, and in addition to using it for business stuff, I'd like to use if for entertainment.

I'd like to be able to:

-watch DVD's and DIVX movies (are there different screen options that look better for movies?)
-play games such as Warcraft III and Rise of Nations

For business, it's got to have XP Pro.

Since I can't build one from scratch, should I go direct from Dell or Compaq? Or get one at Costco or Fry's and upgrade XP? Or can I get away with buying an older used one (with a 1-1.5ghz CPU?) and upgrading the HD and RAM?

Also, what are the essential accessories for travel, especially using it on an airplane? Is there a good travel case that is worth getting, or should I just expect to use what I can get when I buy the laptop?