I need a DTV Turner?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by sx4dude2013, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im looking for a cheaper turner to allow me to get analog cable from the wall, run it to the box, and then HDMI to my reciever since im poor and have basic cable. lol Any good ones for a decent price (under $100). Thanks! I have a brand new Epson 8350 but cant watch cable on it. :( lmoa
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Samsung SIR T451 http://www.ebay.com/itm/SAMSUNG-DIGITAL-HDTV-TUNER-MODEL-SIR-T451-/251223322226?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a7e13ae72 You'll need a DVI-HDMI cable. Unless your AVR has HDMI upconversion...in which case you can use the Component(I don't remember what AVR you have. The "other hoop" will be connection. If your AVR won't allow a simultaneous HDMI/digital coax-toslink connection, you'll have to run the T451 straight to the projector for the video)
     
  3. Jason Charlton

    Jason Charlton Ambassador

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    381
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Real Name:
    Jason Charlton
    If I understand you correctly, your best bet is to pick up a used VCR and route the standard-def cable through that (it should have an ATSC tuner built-in). You will lose HDMI, but frankly, there's no reason to want an HDMI output on a standard-def signal - it will offer zero benefit. All that being said, you really don't want to be watching SD material on a nice, new projector anyway.
     
  4. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I just contacted my cable company, I can upgrade to an HDMI DVR box for $25 a month. I rent the box through them. BUT they do a credit check with a deposit and Idk if I wanna do that. Or I can pick up a Boxee? Those seem like my 2 options. Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Just so you know...JC... My uncle is on "basic cable" with a brand new LG LCD(he is old and wanted no part in a plasma...it was easier not to argue). The TV gets HD content* over the basic cable...the Samsung T451 will do the same thing. *basic cable is required to send over OTA HD...it is up to you to have the tuner. An "outside" dedicated OTA antenna is still better, because you are beholden to whatever channels the basic cable provides. So, if you can snag Qubo over the air...but your cable provider leaves out Qubo...you can't have it.
     
  6. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I looked the the T451 but don't wanna fool with the connections.... :( Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Then forget it. The T451 is your only choice, under $100.
     
  8. Jason Charlton

    Jason Charlton Ambassador

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    381
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Real Name:
    Jason Charlton
    Interesting, thanks for the heads up.
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Yeah, when I connected the TV, I begged him to let me call the cable company for an HD upgrade. He didn't want to raise his bill...fine. I was shocked when ABC/CBS/NBC etc all came in in HD. Granted it was a "learning curve" as the TV had 4 "tiers" of tuner(including QAM)... So his "basic" took up the old set, then the HD ATSC had all the "duplicates". So he basically ended up with "the major networks" twice.
     
  10. ladyg11

    ladyg11 Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    gail
    Any validity to this statment: "Avoid daisy-chaining your HDMI signal: Joel Silver of Imaging Science warns that connecting your source to your receiver via HDMI, and then linking from your receiver to your HDTV, degrades the picture quality."
     
  11. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm gonna try a TiVo. They said I don't need a air card. We will see. I went to radio shack for shits and giggles, a rep came over and asked how she could help. I explained my situation and she seriously too me to speaker wire.....lol Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
     
  12. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You do realize this quote is from 2008... And the very first comment even mentions the fact the original "reviewer" of PCMag either misquoted Joel Silver...or Mr. Silver himself was completely wrong. (I'm willing to believe the writer for PCMag was the idiot here...not Mr. Silver)
     
  13. ladyg11

    ladyg11 Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    gail
    Kewl then. I just ran across it from a "calibtrating your hdtv" search on my cell. Hard to read on a cell screen - for me anyway. Thnx
     
  14. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    The real issue with HDMI(well digital video...which currently HDMI is the only way to carry it...except for DVI...but we won't go there) is... It realistically only works up to 100ft. Any longer than that and you need to switch it to Cat5e/6. Which, technically...HDMI is already Cat5e/6. Back when HDMI was created, lots of us wondered why they didn't just use RJ45 to begin with. Instead of this crappy HDMI flat connection. But back to "the signal"... Digital, in theory, does not degrade. It disappears. So...you can run HDMI 100ft(longer with Cat...and a rain dance and pray to the Gods it works) and have 98% of signal at the other end(98% is considered how much "loss" there can be before the signal is just "lost") Or you can run component 1000ft(even longer) and have 80% of the original signal at the other end. So yeah...analog "degrades"....digital signal disappears....
     
  15. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Wait, so instead of "not wanting to spend $100"... You have decided to spend $200+?
     
  16. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I got it new for $140.....but its faulty. TiVo said they think it has a bad graphics card and to return it. On my way there now.....ugh Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
     
  17. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    So you are paying the monthly fee... What was the external tuner for?
     
  18. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    No monthly fee at all
     
  19. ladyg11

    ladyg11 Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    gail
     
  20. ladyg11

    ladyg11 Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    gail
    So as long as I have all my components and tv tucked into a basic tv stand there's no need to even be concerned.
     

Share This Page