What's new

I may be a total geekazoid, but does anyone else think this one-handed watch is cool? (1 Viewer)

BrianW

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Brian
Yes, it has only one hand with a 24-hour dial. At a glance, it reveals sunrise and sunset times and moon phase.
Here’s the link:
www.yeswatch.com
I’ve never been “into” jewelry, and I wear a watch grudgingly only so that I can tell time. However, I’m totally enamored by this watch. I want one like I wanted my Pronto remote! No watch has ever done this to me.
Yes, I’m a total geek. I’ve always had more than just a passing interest in all things meteorological. I’m also an amateur astronomer, and I actually plan activities based on sunrise/sunset times, so this watch would actually come in handy. Plus, being a total geek, I just like the idea of the single hand tracking the sun in the ecliptic plane. What could be cooler, or more, well, “natural”?
I don’t understand what’s come over me. Yesterday, I would have laughed at the notion of paying $300 for a watch. Just give me a seven-dollar Timex, and I’m happy. Expensive watches are for – well, they’re certainly not for me. Until now, that is. I’m actually trying to think of ways I can afford to get this thing by cutting discretionary spending in other areas. I’ve gone daft! Mind you, I may be a propeller head, but I’m not a useless gadget freak. I’ve automated my house and zoned my A/C, but I don’t own a laptop, PDA, game console, or even a cellular phone. I don’t feel at all compelled to “have the latest thing.” If I don’t have a life-enhancing legitimate use for a gadget, I don’t have any desire to own it. So what is it about this watch that makes my eyes glaze over?
I’m hoping this disease is temporary and will go away before I can afford to get this watch. I’m hoping some day I’ll wake up and think, “What was I thinking! I hate expensive watches! Good thing I couldn’t get on the Internet yesterday to buy the darn thing.”
Oh, well. We all have our crosses to bear.