What's new

I have a 1250-watt plate amp, want to build sub! (1 Viewer)

Robert Cowan

Supporting Actor
hey everyone. this is about my first time posting in this forum (although i have been reading it for awhile). I'm a somewhat veteran DIY'er with amps and such, but have yet to really build any speakers or subwoofers... I just came across a sub plate amp for a velodyne HGS18, and it needs a good home ;)

i already have a deftech supercube reference in my theatre room. it has usable output down to like 15hz, so it goes LOW. i want something to augment some of the higher bass frequencies (~60hz+), and have a bit of quick punch up there. i was thinking like 2 10's or something? im just not sure the difference between sealed, ported, etc... i want it to be clean. having HUGE outputs would be nice, but my other sub has that covered already.

since the plate amp was free, im looking to not really spend that much on drivers. if there is a cheaper driver that performs reasonably well, thats what im in for. i would love to keep the project price pretty low. i have tools (band saw, scroll saw, circular saw, router, router table, dremel on steroids, etc...), so thats not a problem. i would just need MDF, stuffing, maybe ports, etc... i can get dynamat at cost too, so i would be lining the inside with that...

phew! any suggestions guys?

Robert Cowan

Supporting Actor
i should also include that im a maggie owner, so it will need to integrate well with them. (thats why im thinking maybe 10's?)

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
I posted a fairly lengthy reply but edited it when I saw you had a active 2 page thread going on HERE

BTW, IMO products like Dynamat are a waste of time and money for a DIY HT sub. The wavelengths involved render it basically useless. If you really want the best material for lining a sub get 1/2-3/4" thick high wool content felt gasket material.

Here's a pic of what the felt looks like when it's installed

Robert Cowan

Supporting Actor