I can't find how to listen just through my T.V

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by drewman54, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. drewman54

    drewman54 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a new receiver which is a Denon AVR 1913. I hooked it up to my cable box with the red, yellow, white chords to the back of the receiver and hooked up my PS3 with an HDMI chord. I then took another HDMI chord and put it through the 'HDMI out' on the back of the receiver and then connected it to my TV. My wife and I live in a basement suite and I don't want my sound system to make too much noise and would like to use only the TV speakers sometimes, but I can't figure out how to play sound through the TV for my cable. Also the sound comes through only the TV speakers when I am using my PS3 and I don't know how to get it through the receiver..... Does anyone out there have any advice for this situation?
    - Andrew
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Change the input on the TV.
    However, instead of the "yellow/red/white", use the optical so you can still have 5.1.
    You also apparently have "HDMI audio out" set to on. Turn it off.
     
  3. Mark-P

    Mark-P Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    890
    Location:
    Camas, WA
    Real Name:
    Mark Probst
    An analog source will not come through your HDMI cable to the TV, so you will also have to hook up the analog red-white-yellow cables to the TV as well. I'm assuming your cable box doesn't have HDMI?
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Paying attention to NIU/FSU I missread where I thought he also had HDMI cable box into the TV...
    The 1913(I thought) has HDMI upconversion...???
     
  5. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Might not be a bad idea to upgrade to an HD cable box?
     

Share This Page