What's new

HTF Review: Man vs. Wild Season 2 (1 Viewer)

jmk56

Agent
Real Name
J. M. Kauffman
ronsreviews_covers_IMA005195.jpg

Man vs. Wild Season 2

Studio:Image
Year:2008
Rated:Unrated
Film Length: approx. 540 minutes
Aspect Ratio:enhanced 1.78:1
Subtitles:None

In my alter ego as a professional musician, I once had occasion to provide literal background music for a well-known magician. I say literal background music because I was upstage of the magic man, behind him, and thus was party to observing all manner of things those in the audience couldn’t see, things like guide wires for “floating” cards, hidden drawers and secret compartments in various props that you would swear couldn’t be there, and so on and so on. It really took the “magic” out of the act, sadly. I imagine regular viewers of Man vs. Wild may have experienced something like that last year when it was revealed that host Bear Grylls wasn’t actually surviving the various elements in rugged he-man style, but was, in fact, on occasion hunkering down in various luxury hotel suites overnight, and also benefiting from his staff bringing him various foodstuffs to eat. I guess perhaps the show in a fit of truth in advertising could rename itself Man vs. Hilton or Man vs. Caterer.

Despite a certain disillusionment that some viewers may have experienced with those revelations, the fact is Man vs. Wild does show Grylls as a uniquely daring and adventurous host who personably guides the viewer through various exotic locales, each of which offers various obstacles to overcome in order to survive. While there’s a little ingenuousness to the show’s very concept (how many viewers are ever going to find themselves lost in the frozen wastelands of Patagonia?), if you are willing to go with that premise, you’re in for an invigorating, if sometimes stomach-turning, adventure.