What's new

DVD Review HTF DVD REVIEW: Dragonlance: Dragons of Autumn Twilight (1 Viewer)

Matt Hough

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Matt Hough

Dragonlance: Dragons of Autumn Twilight
Directed by Will Meugniot

Studio: Paramount
Year: 2007
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 anamorphic
Running Time: 90 minutes
Rating: PG-13
Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1, 2.0 English
Subtitles: English
MSRP: $19.99

Release Date: January 15, 2008
Review Date: January 10, 2008

The Film

3/5

I have very little personal knowledge or experience with Dungeons and Dragons. I’ve never participated in the role-playing games. I’ve never read any of the hundreds of volumes that have been published, several of which have been best sellers. So I came to Dragonlance: Dragons of Autumn Twilight as a complete newbie. What I learned in my first experience with this fantasy world is that there are a lot of characters, and almost all of them are sporting very unusual names. (Keeping them clear in my head was made easier by the constant repetition of their names throughout the movie.) Each has his role to fill, and the roles seem very well defined. For game playing, that’s undoubtedly wise, but for a feature film, it’s pretty restrictive. Though the main character does undergo some slight changes in personality, for the most part, the characters are as-is and pretty intractable. I can’t say my reaction to the film was revelatory, but it was a moderately pleasant way to spend an afternoon.