What's new

HT Setup Suggestion with $3K Budget (1 Viewer)

xmagoo190

Auditioning
Real Name
Vick
First off, thanks in advance to those that read my post and take the time to reply... I'm a newbie to the HT game. We're building a new home and have a 16' x 19' space and a $3000 - $3500 electronics budget to work with. This does not include the TV/screen. Our intended use is for 3D movies and some music. Mostly movies though (75/25 split). My current 3-yr old setup includes: (This system will be moved to the living room)
  • TH50PZ85U TV
  • VSX-1018AH-K Receiver
  • Energy Take Classic 5.1 Speakers
Here are the "knowns":
  • Speakers are more important than receivers
  • Studio Reference Speakers are for close proximity
  • I've decided on the Pani 65" VT30 Plasma
I would appreciate suggestions on:
  • Speakers (5.1)
  • Sub
  • Receiver
  • Amp
Here are some lingering questions:
  • A close friend swears by his Martin Logan ESL's. I've seen them as low as $750/ea, but are they appropriate considering my intended use and budget?
  • I've taken some time to go to BB/Magnolia to listen to B&W 638's tied, ESL's and the Motion 12's. The 12's sounded better for movies and they seem like a real steal at $279/each at Newegg. Are these appropriate for my front speakers considering my budget or should I use them as my rears? Any other suggestions?
  • Floor-standing or bookshelf? Is there a discernible difference in quality of sound?
  • Considering limiting receiver budget to $700 max.
  • I can get a SC-35 @ BB open box for $710. Is this a "no brainer" or should I consider the Marantz 6005 for $599 @ Amazon?
Again, any and all suggestions are appreciated. I'm on my way to Magnolia to listen to some Monitor Audios after work. But it seems like the more I sample, the larger my lists gets and I'm further away from having a detailed scope for my HT. I've attached a copy of my final basement HT plan. Cheers! s

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert