What's new

HT and PC Setup feedback and advice (1 Viewer)

JeffLambas

Grip
Hi all,

Have just purchased a new home and am in the process of setting up my HT system. I am new to the HT game but know the basics, and combined with plenty of research I have come up with a design.
Some of my musts are:
1. To link all components as best as I can
2. Use the best cable for that paticular job
3. Be able to recosd cable TV through my DVDR
4. Be able to wirelessly trasmit audio and video from PC to HT (DLink DSM320 wireless media player)
5. Be able to transmit cable TV wirelessly via AV (wireless AV sender)

Anyway, I have drawn up a design > it is below.

Any comments and feedback is much appreciated before I go ahead and kick this thing off. If you have any feedback on the wireless components and your experiences that would be great also. More importantly I am interested about the cabling and whether or not I have got it right.

Cheers,
Jeff

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Hi Jeff,

A couple of things jump out at me.

You’re sending from various sources composite, S-video, and component video to the AV receiver, and component video from the receiver to the TV. Your receiver will have to be able to upconvert the first two to component, or you’re going to run into problems.

You mentioned you want to be able to record cable TV to the DVD recorder. That will require a connection between the cable box (labeled “digital set-top box,” I presume?) and the DVD recorder.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

JeffLambas

Grip
Hi Wayne,

Thanks for that.
Regarding point 1 you make....
How can I find out if the receiver will upconvert the signals as I dont see this in the specs of many. If it canot upconvert, will I need to have multiple connections from the receiver to the TV ie component, S-Video and Composite?? For the record I plan to get a mid - high end receiver from Pioneer - Probably the VSX 814